A Fatal Winter

A Fatal Winter

In A Fatal Winter, Max Tudor, Anglican priest, former MI5 agent and village heart throb, investigates two deaths at Chedrow Castle. But his growing attraction to Awena Owen complicates his case, as does the recent arrival at Chedrow Castle of a raucous group of long-lost, greedy relatives, any one of whom has a motive for murder. With a bucolic village setting and glamorous priest doing the sleuthing, the books in this series are destined to become instant classics! Praise for G.M.Maillet's Max Tudor series: 'Rarely have I read descriptions that have left me gasping, in both their hilarity and their painful truth.' Louise Penny. 'There are certain things you want in a village mystery: a pretty setting, a tasteful murder, an appealing sleuth . . . Malliet delivers all that.' New York Times.

The Max Tudor Series, Books 1-3

Wicked Autumn, A Fatal Winter, Pagan Spring

The Max Tudor Series, Books 1-3

Agatha Award-winning author G. M. Malliet has charmed mystery lovers and Agatha Christie devotees everywhere with the critically acclaimed Max Tudor mysteries featuring handsome former-spy-turned-cleric Father Max Tudor. Together for the first time are the first three books in the series: Wicked Autumn Ex-spy Max Tudor has established himself as vicar of a quiet idyllic English village. But when the peace is shattered with a harrowing murder, Max finds himself roped into an investigation that stirs up memories he'd rather not revisit. A Fatal Winter Max investigates two deaths at Chedrow Castle, but finds his investigation complicated by a raucous group of long-lost greedy relatives and a growing attracting to new-age believer Awena Owen. Pagan Spring Max's newfound happiness with Awena is disturbed when a dinner guest is murdered. Connections to long-ago crimes help Max unravel the clues-but can he restore peace to Nether Monkslip in time to finish his Easter sermon?

Pagan Spring

A Max Tudor Mystery

Pagan Spring

"There are certain things you want in a village mystery: a pretty setting, a tasteful murder, an appealing sleuth . . . Malliet delivers all that." —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times G. M. Malliet has charmed mystery lovers, cozy fans, and Agatha Christie devotees everywhere with Wicked Autumn and A Fatal Winter, the critically-acclaimed mysteries that introduced former spy turned cleric Max Tudor. Now, Max returns to the small English village of Nether Monkslip, where some new residents cause quite a stir. Vicar Max Tudor, reveling in his new-found personal happiness with Awena Owen, feels that life at the moment holds no greater challenge than writing his Easter sermon. With Awena away, he looks forward to a dinner that includes newcomers to the village like West End dramatist Thaddeus Bottle and his downtrodden wife Melinda. But when one of the dinner guests is found dead in the pre-dawn hours, Max knows a poisonous atmosphere has once again enveloped his perfect village of Nether Monkslip. Connections to long-ago crimes, some sparked by the paintings of a famous local artist, help Max unravel the clues—but can he restore peace to Nether Monkslip and still manage to finish his sermon? Funny, smart, and perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Louise Penny, Pagan Spring is a one-of-a-kind mystery featuring everyone's favorite attractive vicar.

A Demon Summer

A Max Tudor Mystery

A Demon Summer

*Nominated for the 2014 Agatha Award* Agatha Award-winning author G. M. Malliet has charmed mystery lovers, cozy fans, and Agatha Christie devotees everywhere with Wicked Autumn, A Fatal Winter, and Pagan Spring, the critically acclaimed mysteries featuring handsome former-spy-turned-cleric Father Max Tudor. In A Demon Summer, someone has been trying to poison the 15th Earl of Lislelivet. Since Lord Lislelivet has a gift for making enemies, no one—particularly his wife—finds this too surprising. What is surprising is that the poison was discovered in a fruitcake made and sold by the Handmaids of St. Lucy of Monkbury Abbey. Max Tudor, vicar of Nether Monkslip and former MI5 agent, is asked to investigate. But just as Max comes to believe the poisoning was accidental, a body is discovered in the cloister well. G.M. Malliet continues to delight readers in this standout mystery, the fourth book in her clever and engaging Max Tudor series.

The Haunted Season

A Max Tudor Mystery

The Haunted Season

Max Tudor must contend with his new role as a father as well as a murder all too close to home in Nether Monkslip in the next installment in G. M. Malliet's wildly popular series Agatha Award-winning author G. M. Malliet has charmed mystery lovers and cozy fans everywhere with Wicked Autumn, A Fatal Winter, and Pagan Spring, the critically acclaimed mysteries featuring handsome former-spy-turned-cleric Father Max Tudor. Hailed as "wittier than Louise Penny, lighter than Tana French, smarter than Deborah Crombie" (Cleveland Plain Dealer), Malliet is a top-notch writer whose work gets better with each book. Now, in The Haunted Season, something sinister is stirring at Totleigh Hall, the showcase of the English village of Nether Monkslip. Usually, the Lord and Lady of the manor are absent—high tax rates, it is murmured with more than a trace of envy, force them to live on the continent for most of the year. But Lord and Lady Baaden-Boomethistle have been in residence for some weeks now, and the villagers are hoping for a return to the good old days, when the lord of the manor sprinkled benefits across the village like fairy dust. Max Tudor also looks forward to getting better acquainted with the famous family that once held sway in the area. But a sudden, macabre death intervenes, and the handsome vicar's talent for sorting through clues to a murder is once again called into play in this charming and clever novel.

Saturday Review

Politics, Literature, Science and Art

Saturday Review


The Art Collector

A Journal Devoted to the Arts and the Crafts

The Art Collector