A Redbird Christmas

A heart-warming, feel-good festive read

A Redbird Christmas

Welcome to the charming town of Lost River – and an enchanting and unforgettable Christmas... When Oswald moves to the sleepy little town of Lost River he’s not expecting to make friends - but one by one the eccentric inhabitants win his heart. There’s his landlady Betty who’s a force to be reckoned with, Roy who runs the local store and secretly nurses a broken heart, Patsy the little abandoned girl he takes under his wing and, most importantly, Jack the redbird who brings the sort of miracle that can only happen at Christmas... 'A wonderful book ...oozing with goodness and charm... Absurdly satisfying' Guardian 'A born storyteller' New York Times

Standing in the Rainbow

A Novel

Standing in the Rainbow

The time- 1946-2000. The Place- Elmwood Springs, Missouri. Right in the middle of everywhere, which could be anywhere. World War II has ended and the joyous transitions to peace are being - mostly - embraced. At the heart of the novel is the inimitable Neighbour Dorothy, broadcasting daily, with Mother Smith on the organ, from her front room, via the tower in her backyard, to an eager, and at times lonely, audience across the state - who often hear more than her own family would like about the antics of wayward son Bobby and adolescent Anna Lee.And meet the Oatman Family, white Southern Gospel Singers at a pharmaceutical convention in Memphis, where they blow the place away; timid, little Betty Raye Oatman who can't stand the life and ends up in a Governor's mansion; Hamm Sparks, a super-salesman everyone likes and trusts, who soon sells all of Missouri; and the phenomena known as the Sunset Club, Dinner on the Ground and the Funeral King.; not to mention the changing face of small-town America.Humour and poignancy, wit and nostalgia, Fannie Flagg mixes the cocktail of small-town American life to perfection.

The Whole Town's Talking

A Novel

The Whole Town's Talking

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive. New York Times Bestseller • Southern Book Prize Winner Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways. Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking. With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies. Praise for The Whole Town’s Talking “A witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg’s down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times.”—People “Fannie Flagg at her best.”—The Florida Times-Union “If there’s one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it’s tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town’s Talking. . . . Brilliant . . . equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.”—The Newport Plain Talk “Delightful.”—The Washington Post “A ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion: A Novel by Fannie Flagg (Trivia-On-Books)

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion: A Novel by Fannie Flagg (Trivia-On-Books)

Trivia-on-Book: The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion: A Novel by Fannie Flagg Take the challenge yourself and share it with friends and family for a time of fun! Written by New York Times best-selling author Fannie Flagg, The All-Girls Filling Station's Last Reunion is a comedic mystery novel about two women who, by the end of the book, come together despite time and distance. After marrying off her last daughter, at almost sixty years old, Sookie is ready to relax and travel with her husband until a family secret is revealed that will make her question everything about who she is and what her purpose is. You may have read the book, but not have liked it. You may have liked the book, but not be a fan. You may call yourself a fan, but few truly are. Are you a fan? Trivia-on-Books is an independently curated trivia quiz on the book for readers, students, and fans alike. Whether you're looking for new materials to the book or would like to take the challenge yourself and share it with your friends and family for a time of fun, Trivia-on-Books provides a unique approach to The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg that is both insightful and educational! Features You'll Find Inside: • 30 Multiple choice questions on the book, plots, characters and author • Insightful commentary to answer every question • Complementary quiz material for yourself or your reading group • Results provided with scores to determine "status" Promising quality and value, come play your trivia of a favorite book!

A Homemade Christmas

A Homemade Christmas

Making something with your own hands—whether it's a plate of just-baked cookies, a handcrafted stocking, a homemade wreath, or a hand-folded origami ornament—is a great way to connect with the true meaning of Christmas. From holiday decorating to gift giving, A Homemade Christmas is chock-full of projects, recipes, tips, and helpful hints that are guaranteed to add a homemade touch to your holiday season. Open this charming volume to any page and discover a wealth of practical and easy-to-accomplish ideas for a homemade holiday: • create personal, distinctive holiday greetings • deck the halls with festive, handmade trimmings • cook simple but memorable homemade dishes • make unique, handcrafted gifts • share the joy of the season with friends and family Packed with inspiration and how-tos for ideas that are family-friendly and eco-conscious, festive and meaningful, A Homemade Christmas will put homemade back into your holidays!

Christmas Tales of Alabama

Christmas Tales of Alabama

It's the most wonderful time of the year, especially in Alabama. Celebrate the spirit of the season with these tales of Christmases past from the heart of Dixie. There is the story of Helen Keller's first Christmas memories in Tuscumbia, the tale of how Birmingham native Hugh Martin penned the classic tune "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas," visions of all the impressive Christmas light displays throughout the state and much more. In a collection of tales that range from the heartwarming to the heartbreaking, Alabama author Kelly Kazek culls from over two hundred years of Christmas celebrations in the state and offers up a gift that no one will want to be without come Christmas morning.

The Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop

A Novel

The Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop

A heartwarming novel about secrets of youth rediscovered, hometown memories, and the magical moments in ordinary lives, from the beloved author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe Bud Threadgoode grew up in the bustling little railroad town of Whistle Stop with his mother, Ruth, church-going and proper, and his Aunt Idgie, the fun-loving hell-raiser. Together they ran the town’s popular Whistle Stop Cafe, known far and wide for its fun and famous fried green tomatoes. And as Bud often said of his childhood to his daughter Ruthie, “How lucky can you get?” But sadly, as the railroad yards shut down and Whistle Stop became a ghost town, nothing was left but boarded-up buildings and memories of a happier time. Then one day, Bud decides to take one last trip, just to see what has become of his beloved Whistle Stop. In so doing, he discovers new friends, as well as surprises about Idgie’s life, about Ninny Threadgoode and other beloved Fannie Flagg characters, and about the town itself. He also sets off a series of events, both touching and inspiring, which change his life and the lives of his daughter and many others. Could these events all be just coincidences? Or something else? And can you really go home again?

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion

The hilarious and heartwarming new novel from the author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe Wisconsin, 1941 – With all the men off to war, Fritzi and her sisters must learn men’s work and the All-Girl Filling Station is born, complete with neat little caps, short skirts, and roller-skates. Their peace doesn’t last long though: skilled women are needed to fly planes for the war effort... Alabama, 2005 – Mrs Sookie Earle has just married off the last of her daughters and is looking forward to putting her feet up. But then one day a package arrives. Its contents knock Sookie sideways, propelling her back to the 1940s, and four irrepressible sisters whose wartime adventures force them to reimagine who they are, and what they are capable of. ‘Flagg is a writer of great warmth and wisdom... A richly imagined family saga’ The Times ‘Wonderful... A warm, funny riff on family and identity' Daily Mail