Butcher s Daughter

‘Historical fiction at its finest.' @MargaretAtwood It is 1535 and Agnes Peppin, daughter of a West-country butcher, has been banished, leaving her family home in disgrace to live out the rest of her life cloistered behind the walls of ...

Butcher s Daughter

A dark and beautifully crafted historical novel by an award-winning author. It is 1535 and Agnes Peppin, daughter of a West-country butcher, has been banished from her family home in disgrace to live out the rest of her life cloistered behind the walls of Shaftesbury Abbey. While Agnes grapples with the complex rules and hierarchies of the sisterhood, King Henry VIII has proclaimed himself Head of the Church of England. Religious houses are being formally subjugated, monasteries dissolved, and the great Abbey is no exception to the purge. Cast out with her sisters, Agnes is at last free to be the master of her own fate. But freedom comes at a price as she descends into a world she knows little about, using her wits and testing her moral convictions against her need to survive - by any means necessary... AUTHOR: Victoria Glendinning is a British biographer, critic, broadcaster and novelist. Born in Sheffield and educated at Oxford, she is an Honorary Vice-President of English PEN, winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, was appointed a CBE, is the twice winner of the Whitbread Biography award and Vice-President of the Royal Society of Literature.

The Butcher s Daughter

New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub is the master of psychological suspense.

The Butcher s Daughter

The Butcher's Daughter has descriptive copy which is not yet available from the Publisher.

Songs for the Butcher s Daughter

BUTCHER'S. DAUGHTER: 'Exhilarating and enchanting . . . Peter Manseau is a born storyteller' Richard Mason, author of The Drowning People and Us 'l was ...

Songs for the Butcher s Daughter

Itsik Malpesh was born the son of a goose-plucking factory manager during the Russian pogroms - his life saved on the night it began by the young daughter of a kosher slaughterer. Or so he believes… Exiled during the war, Itsik eventually finds himself in New York, working as a typesetter and writing poetry to his muse, the butcher's daughter, whom he is sure he will never see again. But it is here in New York that Itsik is unexpectedly reunited with his greatest love - and, later, his greatest enemy - with results both serendipitous and tragic. His story is recounted in his memoirs thanks to the most unlikely of translators - a twenty-one-year-old Boston Catholic college student who, in meeting Itsik, has embarked upon a great lie that will define his future and the most extraordinary friendship he'll ever know.

The Butcher s Daughter

Based on true historical events, this is an epic story about war, adventure, love and betrayal. This is a timeless story about vengeance. This is a tale of heartbreak…

The Butcher s Daughter

In an age ruled by iron men, in a world of new discovery and Spanish gold, a young Irishwoman named Mary rises from the ashes of her broken childhood with ships and men-at-arms under her command. She and her loyal crew prowl the Caribbean and prosper in the New World for a time until the ugly past Mary has fled from in the old one finds her. Across the great ocean to the east, war is coming. The King of Spain is assembling the most powerful armada the world has ever seen - an enormous beast - to invade England and depose the “heretic” Protestant queen. To have any chance against the wealth and might of Spain, England will need every warship, she will need every able captain. To this purpose, Queen Elizabeth spares Mary from the headman’s axe for past sins in exchange for her loyalty, her ships and fighting men. Based on true historical events, this is an epic story about war, adventure, love and betrayal. This is a timeless story about vengeance. This is a tale of heartbreak…

The Butcher s Daughter

. .The Butcher’s Daughter is the riveting story of a young woman facing head-on the obstacles carefully constructed against her sex.

The Butcher s Daughter

In 1535, England is hardly a wellspring of gender equality; it is a grim and oppressive age where women—even the privileged few who can read and write—have little independence. In The Butcher’s Daughter, it is this milieu that mandates Agnes Peppin, daughter of a simple country butcher, to leave her family home in disgrace and live out her days cloistered behind the walls of the Shaftesbury Abbey. But with her great intellect, she becomes the assistant to the Abbess and as a result integrates herself into the unstable royal landscape of King Henry VIII.As Agnes grapples with the complex rules and hierarchies of her new life, King Henry VIII has proclaimed himself the new head of the Church. Religious houses are being formally subjugated and monasteries dissolved, and the great Abbey is no exception to the purge. The cosseted world in which Agnes has carved out for herself a sliver of liberty is shattered. Now, free at last to be the master of her own fate, she descends into a world she knows little about, using her wits and testing her moral convictions against her need to survive by any means necessary . . .The Butcher’s Daughter is the riveting story of a young woman facing head-on the obstacles carefully constructed against her sex. This dark and affecting novel by award-winning author Victoria Glendinning intricately depicts the lives of women in the sixteenth century in a world dominated by men, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Philippa Gregory.

The Butcher s Daughter

Natalie only hopes she can uncover the truth before her own frailty and self-doubt catapults her back into the institution—in this atmospheric psychological thriller from the author of The Crying Boy and The Long Weekend.

The Butcher s Daughter

In a Welsh seaside town known as Suicide Bay, a young woman just released from an asylum is unsure if she can trust anyone—including herself . . . When Natalie Powers returns home for the first time in thirteen years, she must convince everyone she has fully recovered from the mental illness that’s seen her institutionalized for most of her young life. But instead of being welcomed back, Natalie enters a baffling world of deception. She must fight her way through the lies in order to discover the truth about her mother’s sudden disappearance sixteen years earlier. To do this, Natalie must also try to make sense of the hazy memories from the past that continue to haunt her. In the village of Little Downey, where a series of cliff-top suicides have caused a decline in tourism, everybody appears to harbor a secret—including her father, the village butcher, who refuses to discuss the subject. But who can Natalie trust if not her own father? Especially when it becomes clear her protector and confidant, Dr. Moses, is not all he appears? Natalie only hopes she can uncover the truth before her own frailty and self-doubt catapults her back into the institution—in this atmospheric psychological thriller from the author of The Crying Boy and The Long Weekend.

The Butcher s Daughter

Near the end of World War II, a little girl is kidnapped during the chaos of the Russian army's advance on Berlin, Germany.

The Butcher s Daughter

Near the end of World War II, a little girl is kidnapped during the chaos of the Russian army's advance on Berlin, Germany. Severely abused by her kidnappers - a depraved, evil butcher and his cold, complicit wife - the strong-willed girl survives by holding on to the shadowy memory of her birth mother's love. With the help of a piano and three different families who open their hearts and homes to her, she gradually finds the strength to stand up to her fake parents - until a dramatic event shatters her new world. From terror and abuse to love and kindness, it is a gripping story of mystery and intrigue.

The Butcher s Daughter

The story is framed by her coming of age in an America where she must find a balance between belonging and exile, her life and her family's history, in order to come into her

The Butcher s Daughter

Florence Grende shares her Jewish family's journey of surviving Hitler's Europe in the forests of Poland, offering a glimpse into her father's partisan activities there. The story is framed by her coming of age in an America where she must find a balance between belonging and exile, her life and her family's history, in order to come into her

The Butchers

The story of who he is and how he got there casts back into Irish folklore, of widows cursing the land and of the men who slaughter its cattle by hand.

The Butchers

***WINNER of the 2021 RSL Ondaatje Prize*** 'I binged it like a Netflix show... It's stunning' Luke Kennard, author of The Transition ______________________________ A photograph is hung on a gallery wall for the very first time since it was taken two decades before. It shows a slaughter house in rural Ireland, a painting of the Virgin Mary on the wall, a meat hook suspended from the ceiling - and, from its sharp point, the lifeless body of a man hanging by his feet. The story of who he is and how he got there casts back into Irish folklore, of widows cursing the land and of the men who slaughter its cattle by hand. But modern Ireland is distrustful of ancient traditions, and as the BSE crisis in England presents get-rich opportunities in Ireland, few care about The Butchers, the eight men who roam the country, slaughtering the cows of those who still have faith in the old ways. Few care, that is, except for Fionn, the husband of a dying woman who still believes; their son Davey, who has fallen in love with the youngest of the Butchers; Gra, the lonely wife of one of the eight; and her 12-year-old daughter, Una, a girl who will grow up to carry a knife like her father, and who will be the one finally to avenge the man in the photograph.

The Butcher s Daughter

Sandra Lesher Stuban has written an inspirational autobiography about dealing with a devastating medical diagnosis.

The Butcher s Daughter

Sandra Lesher Stuban has written an inspirational autobiography about dealing with a devastating medical diagnosis. She grew up in rural Pennsylvania, the daughter of a butcher who instilled in her the solid values she would use throughout her adult life. She attended nursing school in Philadelphia, and after graduation, she joined the Army. She shares her adventures as an Army nurse and her successful career as a military officer. She was serving as a Lieutenant Colonel, when, at the age of thirty-eight, she was diagnosed with a chronically progressive disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), also called Lou Gehrig's disease. She was given a prognosis of two to three years to live, and was medically retired from the Army. She advanced quickly from being a strong, physically fit military officer, to being a ventilator dependent quadriplegic. She shares this journey of progressive paralysis along with her insights on living with a disability. Her perspective on the importance of family and friends, dependence on caregivers, raising a young son, and having a strong survivor's attitude, will be a source of inspiration for anyone facing such an obstacle in the road. She has lived with ALS for fourteen years, and still counting!

Butcher s Daughter

Butcher s Daughter