Don't Try To Find Me

A Novel

Don't Try To Find Me

When a fourteen-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her—launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever, in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl. Don’t try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley’s hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away. As the days pass and it sinks in that the impossible has occurred, Rachel and her husband Paul are informed that the police have “limited resources.” If they want their fourteen-year-old daughter back, they will have to find her themselves. Desperation becomes determination when Paul turns to Facebook and Twitter, and launches FindMarley.com. But Marley isn’t the only one with secrets. With public exposure comes scrutiny, and when Rachel blows a television interview, the dirty speculation begins. Now, the blogosphere is convinced Rachel is hiding something. It’s not what they think; Rachel would never hurt Marley. Not intentionally, anyway. But when it’s discovered that she’s lied, even to the police, the devoted mother becomes a suspect in Marley’s disappearance. Is Marley out there somewhere, watching it all happen, or is the truth something far worse?

Bliss

A Novel

Bliss

Meryem, a fifteen-year-old girl, lives in a rural village on the shores of Lake Van in Eastern Turkey. Her simple life changes dramatically after her uncle, a sheikh in a dervish order, rapes her. She is considered an outcast for shaming her family. When she is locked in a shed and left alone for days, she comes to the painful realization that her family expects her to hang herself with a length of rope left on the dirt floor. But she is defiant. As tradition still has it, a judgment must be made in the name of honor. She is told she is to be taken to Istanbul, a shining city she envisions being just over the nearest mountain. Many girls from her village have "gone to Istanbul," and she assumes it must be a wonderful place since not one has returned. In fact, those girls have been the victims of "honor-killings." Cemal, Meryem's cousin, a commando in the army, has been fighting in the mountains against the rebels. On his return home, he is welcomed as a hero though he has been severely traumatized by his war experiences. His father, who had violated Meryem, charges Cemal with the task of executing his cousin's punishment. As he and Mereym begin their journey, they proceed through the marketplace where the townspeople have gathered, some weeping and others mocking her. In Istanbul, a Harvard-educated professor named Irfan lives an elite existence. He has published many books, hosts a radio show, and seems to enjoy success and jet-set freedom. He revolts against the routine of his soulless life, deciding to leave his wealthy wife and Istanbul. He charters a boat to sail the Aegean . By coincidence, his path crosses with that of Meryem and Cemal. They embark on a journey together that fills their hearts with hope and sets them free. Already an international bestseller, this lyrical and moving tale juxtaposes the traditional and modern and draws attention to human rights violations against women in the Middle East.

Everything Means Nothing to Me: a Novel of Underground Nashville

A Novel of Underground Novel

Everything Means Nothing to Me: a Novel of Underground Nashville

PRAISE FOR EVERYTHING MEANS NOTHING TO ME, THE SEARING NOVEL OF UNDERGROUND NASHVILLE SPELLBINDING . . . I could not put it down until Id read the entire novel in one sitting. Rachel Gladstone, DishMag.com HAUNTING, BEAUTIFUL, POWERFUL. Roy E. Perry, The Tennessean In the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Hermann Hesse, David M. Carew writes dark, searing novels set in the underground of a great city: Nashville. Carews debut, Voice from the Gutter, was hailed a minor masterpiecean existential novel you will not soon forget by Tennessean book reviewer Roy E. Perry. Now Carew returns with Everything Means Nothing to Me, an impassioned tale of love, loss, betrayal, and redemption. When the sad, lonely, half-mad writer John Werrick meets mysterious singer-songwriter Eva Downing in a Nashville club, it sparks a tragic, haunted love. Obsessed with Eva, Werrick burns to answer the riddles surrounding her: Why does she so passionately yearn to performthen make sure few know about it? Why does she go through a strange, dark ritual before performing? What is the explosive secret she is hiding? As Werrick struggles to unravel the mystery, he discovers the brutal secret shrouding Evas lifeas events surge to a shattering climax.

To Tame a Land

A Novel

To Tame a Land

Rye Tyler was twelve when his father was killed in an Indian raid. Taken in by a mysterious stranger with a taste for books and an instinct for survival, Rye is schooled in the hard lessons of life in the West. But after killing a man, he is forced to leave his new home. He rides lonely mountain passes and works on dusty cattle drives until he finds a job breaking horses. Then he meets Liza Hetrick, and in her eyes he sees his future. After establishing himself as marshal of Alta, he returns, only to discover that Liza has been kidnapped. Tracking her to Robbers’ Roost, Rye is forced to face the man who taught him all he knows about books, guns, and friendship. Two old friends—one woman: Who will walk away?

a: A Novel

a: A Novel

Conceptually unique, hilarious and frightening, referred to as “pornography” in The New York Times Book Review’s original review and as a “work of genius” in Newsweek’s, a: A Novel is the perfect literary manifestation of Andy Warhol’s sensibility. In the late sixties Warhol set out to turn a trade book into a piece of pop art, and the result was this astonishing account of the famously influential group of artists, superstars, addicts and freaks who made up the Factory milieu. Created from audiotapes recorded in and around the Factory, a: A Novel begins with the fabulous Ondine popping several amphetamines and then follows its characters as they converse with inspired, speed-driven wit and cut swaths through the clubs, coffee shops, hospitals, and whorehouses of 1960’s Manhattan.

Fang: A Maximum Ride Novel

(Maximum Ride 6)

Fang: A Maximum Ride Novel

___________________________ ‘Has all the characteristics of his work . . . pace, action, mystery and cool’ SUNDAY TIMES Fang will be the first to die . . . Maximum Ride is used to surviving against the odds, but nothing has ever come as close to destroying her as the horrifying prophesy that she will lose her best friend, her soulmate. Max's desperate desire to protect Fang brings the two closer together than ever. But when the magnificent Dylan is introduced into the flock, their world is upended yet again. Raised in a lab like the others, Dylan has been created for only one reason: to be Max's perfect partner. And meanwhile, the apocalypse is coming . . . ________________________________ This book was recently reissued with a new cover, so stock may vary.

Spilt Milk

A Novel

Spilt Milk

From world-renowned Brazilian writer Chico Buarque comes a stylish, imaginative tale of love, loss, and longing, played out across multiple generations of one Brazilian family. At once jubilant and painfully nostalgic, playful and devastatingly urgent, Spilt Milk cements Chico Buarque’s reputation as a masterful storyteller. As Eulálio Assumpção lies dying in a Brazilian public hospital, his daughter and the attending nurses are treated—whether they like it or not—to his last, rambling monologue. Ribald, hectoring, and occasionally delusional, Eulálio reflects on his past, present, and future—on his privileged, plantation-owning family; his father’s philandering with beautiful French whores; his own half-hearted career as a weapons dealer; the eventual decline of the family fortune; and his passionate courtship of the wife who would later abandon him. As Eulálio wanders the sinuous twists and turns of his own fragmented memories, Buarque conjures up a brilliantly evocative portrait of a man’s life and love, set in the broad sweep of vivid Brazilian history.

J: A Novel

J: A Novel

A thought-provoking prescient novel from the Booker-prize winning author of The Finkler Question. ‘Remarkable...May well come to be seen as the dystopian British novel of its times’ Guardian Two people fall in love, not yet knowing where they have come from or where they are going. They aren’t sure if they have fallen in love of their own accord, or whether they’ve been pushed into each other’s arms. But who would have pushed them, and why? Hanging over their lives is a momentous catastrophe – a past event shrouded in suspicion, denial and apology, now referred to as What Happened, If It Happened. Set in the future – a world where the past is a dangerous country, not to be talked about or visited – J is a love story of incomparable strangeness, both tender and terrifying. Shortlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize, the 2014 Goldsmiths Prize and Longlisted for the JQ Wingate Literary Prize.

Child of the Prophecy: A Sevenwaters Novel 3

Child of the Prophecy: A Sevenwaters Novel 3

The third book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series Child of the Prophecy is the eagerly-awaited follow-up to the winner of the Aurealis Award Son of the Shadows and the international bestseller Daughter of the Forest. Raised in an isolated cove, Fainne has been sent to live at Sevenwaters and burdened with a terrible task. She must use whatever powers she can to prevent the Fair Folk winning back the Islands, no matter what the cost. Even if it means denying herself the one she loves. But can Fainne turn her back on the people she has come to care for? And can she bring herself to rid the world of the chosen one-child of the prophecy? PRAISE FOR THE SERIES "Enormously satisfying ... enchanting, deftly told" Good Reading "There are some series so lyrical, so well-conceived, that every new book is a delight, and this describes Marillier's Sevenwaters." The Weekend West "A rousing page-turner, a heady blending of romance, magic and battle" Booklist Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.