Eat Haggis and Ceilidh on

Eat Haggis and Ceilidh on

Celebrating diverse Scottish delights such as Rabbie Burns, the Auld Alliance, blazing heather, Cal Mac, flying Scotsmen, Whisky Porridge, the Gay Gordons, the mighty haggis, the Melrose Sevens, saltnsauce...

The Unquiet Heart

The Unquiet Heart

Kaite Welsh's thrilling medical mystery THE UNQUIET HEART is the second in the gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For readers of Natasha Pulley's THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET or Laura Purcell's THE SILENT COMPANIONS This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery - Sunday Express Sarah Gilchrist has no intention of marrying her dull fiancé Miles, the man her family hope will restore her reputation and put an end to her dreams of becoming a doctor, but when he is arrested for a murder she is sure he didn't commit she finds herself his reluctant ally. Beneath the genteel façade of upper class Edinburgh lurks blackmail, adultery, poison and madness and Sarah must return to Edinburgh's slums, back alleys and asylums as she discovers the dark past about a family where no one is what they seem, even Miles himself. It also brings her back into the orbit of her mercurial professor, Gregory Merchiston - he sees Sarah as his protegee, but can he stave off his demons long enough to teach her the skills that will save her life?

The Ultimate Book of Rude and Politically Incorrect Jokes

The Ultimate Book of Rude and Politically Incorrect Jokes

A book containing every joke guaranteed to annoy those who like to think of themselves as politically correct. It deliberately sets out to offend "prudes and those who take life too seriously".

New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island

New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island

A multitude of land and sea adventures await in these two popular destinations, with their pristine rivers and forests and watchable wildlife. This comprehensive guide takes in all kinds of activities here – hiking in Fundy National Park, sea kayaking, biking the Confederation Trail, sightseeing at Flowerpot Rocks. It covers all the basics, too: accommodations, restaurants, travel tips, cultural events and more. Barbara & Stillman Rogers are the authors of Hunter's monumental guide Adventure Guide to Canada's Atlantic Provinces as well as many other guides to Canadian regions. They have been 'wandering round' Canada since they were first married and operate a business as professional travel writers. Maps, photos.

Prince Edward Island & the Isles de la Madeleine

Prince Edward Island & the Isles de la Madeleine

This is drawn from our much larger guide to all the Atlantic Provinces. Hiking, trout and salmon fishing, skiing, snowmobiling, cycling, kayaking, exploring, puffin spotting ? discover all these adventures and more in a world of pristine waters, rugged slopes, breathtaking seascapes, sophisticated cities, historic towns and remote wilderness areas. The book also offers details on the local wildlife, including moose, caribou, bears, seals and whales. Complete restaurant and hotel information. Photos and maps. In planning a trip to this area (somewhere I have never been) I used this book extensively. We enjoy hiking, kayaking and general sight-seeing. This book not only provided information on outdoor activities but also on lodging, dining and driving as well as the history of the areas. It provides a wealth of information and made our stay much more enjoyable than if we just went there not knowing anything. We brought it along and it was a very important reference for us as we toured the province. I highly recommend it. After reading several travel books, this was the best one and the only one we took on our trip. -- DM Dugan. This book is excellent. What I particularly liked was that it mentioned small walks that can be taken in the areas that we visited, as well as archeological sites and wildlife viewing areas, all in my areas of interest. -- Sheila Ferrari. We love eastern Canada and have traveled there many times. There are parts described in this books that we have not seen and would love to see. -- R. Satelmajer

Canada's Atlantic Provinces

New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Iles de la Madeleine, Labrador

Canada's Atlantic Provinces

New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador. Exploring the rugged coasts, sophisticated cities and historic towns, this adventure guide also provides background information - history, culture, geography, and climate - of each destination and its people.

Essential Scotland

Essential Scotland


The Mini Rough Guide to Toronto

The Mini Rough Guide to Toronto

''The Rough Guide to Toronto '' is the ultimate practical handbook to the city, featuring entertaining accounts of every sight from the CN Tower to the tranquil Toronto Islands and insiders' reviews of the best accomodation, restaurants, shops, and nightlife. We've also included full-colour maps with grid-references for every attraction and reccommendation, so you'll be navigating the city like a local in no time!

Scotland

Scotland