Family Secrets

Acts of Memory and Imagination

Family Secrets

A new edition with a new introduction and an additional chapter.

Family Secrets

Life Stories of Adult Children of Alcoholics

Family Secrets

Tells the stories of fifteen individuals who grew up with alcoholic parents, and explains how they have learned to accept their childhood memories and move on

Family Secrets

Family Secrets

This is a true story of a woman who learns a dark and troubling secret about her trusted husband that threatens to rip her world apart. With the aid of a group of daring women, she escapes with her four children to another country. In her new found freedom, she is able to examine the childhood experiences that influenced her to remain imprisoned and paralyzed in an abusive relationship for so long. It is a riveting story of one woman's search to understand her ignorance and tolerance of an abusive relationship and the parochial, male-dominated society in which she was trapped.

Family Secrets

Risking Reproduction in Central Mozambique

Family Secrets

Global Health; Women's Studies; Anthropology; Ethnography; African Studies.

Family Secrets

Family Secrets

"The doyenne of women's fiction" West Australian When patriarch Gerald Hawkins passes away in his Tasmanian home, after ten years of serious illness, his family experience a wave of grief and, admittedly, a surge of relief. Gerald's dominating personality has loomed large over his wife, Connie, their children, Andrew and Kerry, and his sister Flora, for decades. Connie, whose own dreams were dispensed with upon marriage, is now determined to renew her long friendship with Gerald's estranged sister, Flora. She travels to France where she finds Flora struggling to make peace with the past and searching for a place to call home. Meanwhile Andrew's marriage is crumbling, and Kerry is trapped in stasis by unfinished business with her father. As the family adjusts to life after Gerald, they could not be more splintered. But there are surprises in store and secrets to unravel. And once the loss has been absorbed, is it possible that they could all find a way to start afresh with forgiveness, understanding and possibility? PRAISE FOR LIZ BYRSKI "Her plots and characters get stronger with each book" The Sydney Morning Herald "Liz Byrski has a guaranteed cheer squad for her novels which champion...women taking charge of their life and growing old creatively" Daily Telegraph Fans of Monica McInerney, Liane Moriarty and Joanna Trollope will love Liz Byrski.

Family Secrets Books 9-12

An Anthology

Family Secrets Books 9-12

Five extraordinary siblings. One dangerous past. Unlimited potential. Fans of "Heroes" and "The X-Files" will be unable to resist the mysteries of Family Secrets! This third and final collection contains books 9-12: Blind Attraction by Myrna Mackenzie, The Parker Project by Joan Elliott Pickart, The Insider by Ingrid Weaver and Check Mate by Beverly Barton.

Family Secrets

Family Secrets

Bonnie Francis Martin knows all the rules a proper southern girl must follow to keep the family peace, especially when it comes to keeping family business inside the family. But the rules are no help to her when she becomes embroiled in a murder. Reeling from her own traumatic experiences, Bonnie must choose who to trust in a world where no one is who they seem to be. As the police investigation leads to a member of Bonnie's own family, the number of secrets she needs to keep continues to grow. Will her silence cost Bonnie her life?Constance (Cee) Hunter brings her love for her home state, Louisiana, to her writing in Family Secrets. Living in the state from kindergarten through college has given Cee an appreciation for the people, the culture, the food (the recipe for perfect fried chicken is included in Family Secrets), and the natural beauty. Work and family have taken her to other parts of the country, but her fondest memories are of tromping through the piney woods of central Louisiana.You can email Cee at [email protected] She'd love to hear from you.

Family Secrets

Family Secrets

Starlet St. Morgan seemed to have it all. A successful author and businesswoman in a happy marriage, she was the envy of many. But having had a reclusive childhood punctuated by her mothers mysterious untimely death left a void in her life. One she decided to fill by researching her family tree, only to have her entire world unravel and come crashing down around her. Derrick Hayden had been on a professional high after the biggest low of his life. His private investigation firm had successfully solved its last one hundred and one cases, a feat rarely attained in the field of investigation. A chance call from an old friend pulls him into the case of his life one that may finally redeem him for not being able to solve the one case that meant the most to him.

Family Secrets

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Family Secrets

Explores the destructive impact of "dark secrets" on family life, offering a step-by-step guide to uncovering such secrets and sharing advice on how to deal with such painful truths