Separate Rooms

He'd laughed when he told the story – not like it was funny, but in a Can you
believe it kind of way. The things these geezers get up to. You've got to laugh.
Jake was dead. I had trouble seeing the funny side of that. But if Marco believed "
The ...

Separate Rooms


Dead Heat

You've got to start accepting that I'm gone. ... “Go to Torey,” he says, like he ain't
already beat that dead horse to a pulp. ... but you have to get out of here.” I laugh.
“If that's what's holding you up, you might as well go. There ain't no way out.

Dead Heat

A battered teen. A devoted mentor. A bond that transcends the grave. Alex is a machine whisperer. He can diagnose a broken-down car with a touch. But he’s trapped in a dead-end life, exploited by a father who’d sooner slap him upside the head than say good morning. For two years Cole mentored Alex, providing a glimpse of kindness and hope. All that vanished with Cole’s death. It’s a broken comfort when he reappears in spirit form, but Alex is willing to take what he can get—until he learns Cole’s efforts to protect him may have doomed his soul. Caught in a deadly spin, Alex can’t get traction until an ailing ’59 Studebaker steers Jade into his life. With a love of the paranormal and the disarming ability to see the good in Alex, she assures him Cole can reach the Other Side—if Alex escapes his father. But a previous terrifying attempt has convinced him it’s impossible. Can he drum up the courage to try, or will Cole be earthbound forever? If you like gritty, compelling stories with true-to-life characters who make you cry and cheer, you’ll love Lisa Nowak’s Dead Heat. Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, John Green, and Chris Crutcher. Download a copy today for a pulse-pounding story that’ll haunt you long after you turn the last page. 2014 Finalist in The Kindle Book Review's Best Kindle Book Awards. “Dead Heat blew me away. It’s a gritty ghost story interwoven with all-too-real subject matter that will make you cry for Alex, ache for Cole, and thank God for Jade. I was invested in these characters’ lives and you will be too.” ~ Stacey Wallace Benefiel, author of the Zellie Wells trilogy “Dead Heat is an amazingly well written story about one young man's struggle to stay on the straight and narrow…. As an Adult education teacher and a special education teacher of 12 years, I would recommend Lisa Nowak's Dead Heat and look forward to reading her Full Throttle series.” ~ Shannon Burne, M.Ed. Londonderry H.S. *This book is not part of the Full Throttle series. It contains darker subject matter that kids under the age of 14 may find disturbing.*

The Man Who Died Laughing

We learned you gotta throw stuff out, replace it with better stuff, polish it, polish it
again, work onyour pacing, your delivery, yourmannerisms. It's a performance up
there, and you're aperformer.You're not you. You've got to find your stage ...

The Man Who Died Laughing

Down on his luck, a writer takes a ghostwriting job for a troubled comedian. Stewart Hoag's first novel made him the toast of New York. Everyone in Manhattan wanted to be his friend, and he traveled the cocktail circuit supported by Merilee, his wife, and Lulu, his basset hound. But when writer's block sunk his second novel, his friends, money, and wife all disappeared. Only Lulu stuck by him. The only opportunity left is ghostwriting -- an undignified profession that still beats dental school. His first client is Sonny Day, an aging comic who was the king of slapstick three decades ago. Since he and his partner had a falling out in the late 1950s, Day has grown embittered and poor, until the only thing left for him to do is write a memoir. Hoagy and Lulu fly to Hollywood expecting a few months of sunshine and easy living. Instead they find Day's corpse, and a murder rap with Hoagy's name on it.

The Road to Wigan Pier Revisited

She gave a short laugh. 'That's what they're there ... like it,' she said, grimacing. '
You've got old women in there, young women, pregnant women – all types of
different women. ... 'I mean it was dead hard going through miscarriage and then
my old relationship with that boyfriend ending and getting kicked out ... It was
dead ...

The Road to Wigan Pier Revisited

You think that the recession isn't biting? Look again. You think that the riots in August 2011 were unpredicted? Think again. 75 years after George Orwell's classic expose on life in the North, Stephen Armstrong returns to find that many things have changed, but not always for the better. Here he finds how young girls go missing because of the intransigence of the benefits systems, how fragile hope can be in the face of poverty and why the government stands in the way of a community helping itself. In his journey, taking in Bradford, Sheffield, Liverpool and Wigan, Armstrong reveals a society at the end of its tether, abandoned by all those who speak in its name.

Judgment in Death

You nearly scared me to death.” “You've got strawberry gunk on your lip. Clean
up and get to work.” “Where's she going?” McNab demanded when Eve breezed
out. “An hour personal time.” “Dallas? Personal time? Maybe it was the voice of ...

Judgment in Death

When a cop killer cuts loose in a club called Purgatory, New York Detective Eve Dallas descends into an underground criminal hell in this novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling In Death series. In an uptown strip joint, a cop is found bludgeoned to death. The weapon's a baseball bat. The motive's a mystery. It's a case of serious overkill that pushes Eve Dallas straight into overdrive. Her investigation uncovers a private club that's more than a hot spot. Purgatory's a last chance for atonement where everyone is judged. Where your ultimate fate depends on your most intimate sins. And where one cop's hidden secrets are about to plunge innocent souls into vice-ridden damnation...

You Gotta Laugh to Keep from Cryin

Far better , the story concluded , not to get thirsty in the first place . I ' m starting ...
We ' d save ourselves a heck of a lot of trouble and worry if we ' d stop eating
immediately , quickly starve to death , and get it over with . ... You ' ve probably
seen them as you shopped in the meat department of your friendly local
supermarket .

You Gotta Laugh to Keep from Cryin

From "Knoxville News-Sentinel" humor columnist Venable comes a rollicking view of life after 50 that will leave readers laughing and happy to be members of the AARP set.

Chile Death

“You wanna have a conversation, Roxie, you go see Charlie Lipman. I'm payin' ...
When I get through with you, you'll be lucky if you've got enough left to get the two
of you to Terlingua and back. ... Jerry Jeff tried to laugh, but couldn't pull it off.

Chile Death

Ex-lawyer turned herbalist and amateur sleuth China Bayles attends a chili cookoff where a womanizing judge dies of an allergic reaction to peanuts. And since everyone knows peanuts don't belong in a bowl of Texas chili, China knows something suspicious is afoot...

A Dead Rose

You know I'll take you anywhere you want to go; all you have to do is say the
word.” “Well, I'm ... An old Sade video came on a few minutes later. ... Vincent
laughed and clapped his hands as I sang the song I used to jam to in my early
teens.

A Dead Rose

Can a lack of self love make a woman self-destruct? Does a woman's past really dictate her present? Are "loose" women only as deep as the make-up they wear? Meet Isis Reynolds. She's young, pretty, and smart, but has a lot to learn about relationships. In her quest for love, she's developed an "easy" reputation, earning disrespect from men, and hatred from women. Through it all, she strives to repair her relationship with God while fighting off the demons of her past and struggling to be the rock for her friend, Kendra, who struggles with the realization that she's gay, and her sister, Cleopatra, who moves in with her boyfriend and tries to hide it from their parents. On top of it all, Isis quickly marries Vincent, who doesn't seem to be as comfortable with his new wife's past as he claims to be. As Isis' world seems to fall apart around her, she learns there are no easy answers to life's questions.

Love You to Death

You've got to ratchet it up. The building is ... They're ready to take her, but they
have no idea what she looks like, so they can't do anything until you get her
inside the building. That's problem ... Nova rewards me with a small laugh. “I'll go
back ...

Love You to Death

Charlie D is the host of a successful late-night radio call-in show. His listeners have a particularly intimate relationship with him and often reveal much about themselves, confident that he will honor their trust and that he can save them. In their minds, he is perfect: one of life's winners. But Charlie feels he's something of a fake. His easy confidence on-air belies the reality for a man born with a wine-colored birthmark that covers half his face. Love You to Death covers two hours on "The World According to Charlie D" during which he must both discover the long-time listener who is killing the people who trust him and attempt to come to terms with the man behind the birthmark.

Death on the Installment Plan

You've got to be born to their sticky ways... You go out there to the woods... as
innocent as the day you were born. ... He took another look at me... the cut of my
jacket made him smile a little... and my combination pants... with the string seat.

Death on the Installment Plan

Death on the Installment Plan is a companion volume to Louis-Ferinand Céline's earlier novel Journey to the End of Night. Published in rapid succession in the middle 1930s, these two books shocked European literatue and world consciousness. Nominally fiction but more rightly called "creative confessions," they told of the author's childhood in excoriating Paris slums, of serves in the mud wastes of World War I and African jungles. Mixing unmitigated despair with Gargantuan comedy, they also created a new style, in which invective and obscenity were laced with phrases of unforgettable poetry. Céline's influence revolutionized the contemporary approach to fiction. Under a cloud for a period, his work is now acknowledged as the forerunner of today's "black humor."