Little Friends

Children's Film and Media Culture in China

Little Friends

Contributing to the growing debates on children and media worldwide, Little Friends explores the pervasive presence of film culture in the lives of children in China. The book also introduces the work of the little-known Children's Film Studio and the Film Course, a reform-period attempt by Chinese filmmakers and policy leaders to control the media to which schoolchildren were exposed. Stephanie Donald uses expansive firsthand interviews, children's drawings, and film history to tell a compelling cinematic story before it is forgotten in the onrush of globalized culture. She is especially careful to bring in the interests and experiences of children themselves. The book follows the trajectory of contemporary media analysis in privileging the use as well as the content of media. The author's "turn" to the end-user enriches her discussion of media literacy, cultural competencies, and--perhaps especially in the Chinese case--consideration of the desired uses of media in relation to state priorities and social expectations. This is a trend that belongs to an era of digital experimentation and commercial development; in interactive television, streamed news and entertainment, and the multiple, unintended uses of Internet and mobile technologies. Notwithstanding the contemporary context, Donald's arguments consider a range of media deployment that, although not especially new in technological terms, offer new insights into a formalized Chinese media system for children. Scholars and students of Asian and children's film and education will find this unique work a fascinating window into Chinese culture and society and a provocative exploration of media culture.

New Homes For Our Little Friends

Help Our Little Friends Move into Their New Homes

New Homes For Our Little Friends

What a mess! Brand new homes, empty rooms: Now what? It's pre-school readers to the rescue as they get to arrange--and re-arrange--all the furniture and accessories in every house on the street. Fifty magnetic pieces to place on magnetized pages--from bathroom rugs to the kitchen sink--that will unleash the inner interior decorator in every four-and five-year-old, whether they're restless in the backseat of the car, bored on a jet plane flight, or simply playing on the living room floor.

Little Friends

An utterly gripping and shocking new psychological suspense from the bestselling author of DAUGHTER

Little Friends

PRE-ORDER NOW: THE STUNNING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB SENSATION DAUGHTER 'Extremely clever, readable and elegant ... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best' Suzy K Quinn, bestselling author of Don't Tell Teacher 'Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!!' Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me Their children are friends first. They hit it off immediately, as kids do. And so the parents are forced to get to know each other. Three wildly different couples. Three marriages, floundering. There are barbecues, dinner parties, a holiday in Greece. An affair begins, resentments flare, and despite it all the three women become closer. Unnoticed their children run wild. The couples are so busy watching each other that they forget to watch their children. Until tragedy strikes. Because while they have been looking the other way, evil has crept into their safe little world and every parent's biggest nightmare is about to come true... What readers are saying about Little Friends: 'Oh my god I couldn't put this down. It was such a captivating read' Five Stars 'I loved this book - it thrilled me, it chilled me, and it made me feel very unsettled. I will be recommending this one for sure, and thinking about it for a long time to come' Five Stars 'I was completely invested in the story and couldn't take my eyes away from the words' Five Stars 'So right up my alley! It's impossible to put down as you desperately want to know what happens next in this powerful and unsettling story' Five Stars 'Dark and electrifying' Five Stars 'Twisty and poignantly realistic in its portrayal of the tangled interplay of human relations' Five Stars

Final Draft Level 2 Student's Book

Final Draft Level 2 Student's Book

Final Draft combines academic writing skills, vocabulary, models, grammar, and a dedicated section on plagiarism.

New Society

New Society


Flying with Chinese Student Book KC

Flying with Chinese Student Book KC


Objective Proficiency Student's Book Pack (Student's Book with Answers with Downloadable Software and Class Audio CDs (2))

Objective Proficiency Student's Book Pack (Student's Book with Answers with Downloadable Software and Class Audio CDs (2))

Objective Proficiency Second edition provides official preparation for the revised 2013 Cambridge English: Proficiency exam, also known as Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE). A variety of challenging, lively topics provide thorough training in exam skills and high-level language development. Each unit contains three double-page lessons ensuring flexibility, even pacing and progress. This motivating material is also suitable for high-level students keen to improve their general English. The Class Audio CDs contain all the audio material for the listening exercises in the Student's Book. Interactive software, downloadable from a URL contained in the Student's Book, provides activities for practice of exam skills, grammar and vocabulary.