My (Part-Time) Paris Life

How Running Away Brought Me Home

My (Part-Time) Paris Life

Poignant, touching, and lively, this memoir of a woman who loses her mother and creates a new life for herself in Paris will speak to anyone who has lost a parent or reinvented themselves. Lisa Anselmo wrapped her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who was a defining force in her daughter’s life—maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hadn’t built a life of her own, and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother—and her mother’s expectations? Desperate for answers, she reaches for a lifeline in the form of an apartment in Paris, refusing to play it safe for the first time. What starts out as a lurching act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. But how can you imagine a life bigger than anything you’ve ever known? In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, My (Part-time) Paris Life a story is for anyone who’s ever felt lost or hopeless, but still holds out hope of something more. This candid memoir explores one woman’s search for peace and meaning, and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness.

Paris, Part Time

Paris, Part Time

In 2008, Lisa Baker Morgan, a thirty-eight-year-old, newly divorced mother, unexpectedly found herself staring down death in a Monaco hospital, nine time zones away from her two young daughters in Los Angeles. After facing mortality and surviving, her life took on a sense of urgency to experience and accomplish all of the things she had ever wanted for herself and her daughters. Top of her list: a life-long desire to live in Paris. The seemingly indulgent and even "crazy" aspiration was part of a journey that set her on the path of recovery of health and of spirit. Paris, Part Time is a different kind of love story -- it is an adventurous evolution of self-creation and determination to overcome obstacles and time zones that will take the reader to the streets, cuisine, culture, and matchless beauty of France. From lessons of impermanence to finding the joie de vivre, Paris, Part Time showcases the vulnerability and strength of the human spirit and motherhood, and our desire to transcend setbacks and live our best life, however we define it, whatever our circumstances. Relatable in sentiment, heart-felt, and humorous, Paris, Part Time bounds with the optimism of infinite possibility and gratitude for life itself. Twenty-five recipes and over forty pages of photographs reflecting the author's journey and experiences in France are included.

Five Years of My Life

1894-1899

Five Years of My Life

The Dreyfus affair was a political scandal that shook France around 1900. To this day, this affair is an example of miscarriage of justice and anti-Semitism. Alfred Dreyfus was a French army captain of Jewish descent who was accused of handing over secret documents to the German Embassy in Paris. A handwritten note and a report identifying Dreyfus as the author were the only evidence. Dreyfus, who always claimed his innocence, was found guilty of treason, sentenced to life imprisonment and deported to Devil's Island. Emile Zola stood up for the convict. His famous open letter J'Accuse...! set in motion a growing movement of support for Dreyfus and put pressure on the government to resume the case. The affair divided France into the pro-Army, mostly Catholic "anti-Dreyfusards" and the anticlerical, pro-republican Dreyfusards.

My Life

My Life

Autobiography of the German musician famous for his operas.

My Life in Politics

My Life in Politics

Along with Mikhail Gorbachev, Helmut Kohl, and Francois Mitterand, Jacques Chirac is one of the most iconic statesmen of the twentieth century. Two-time president of France, mayor of Paris, and international politician, a recent poll voted him the most admired political figure in France, with current president Nicolas Sarkozy ranking in 32nd place. This memoir covers the full scope of Chirac's political career of more than 50 years and includes the last century's most significant events. A protégé of General de Gaulle, Chirac started political life after France's defeat in Algeria in the early 1960s. He then became Prime Minister George de Pompidou's "bulldozer" and a personal negotiator with Saddam Hussein for France's oil interests in the Persian Gulf. He sold Iraq its first nuclear reactor and incurred the wrath of the United States and Israel, which he discusses in striking detail. As mayor of Paris, Chirac was famed for his success in beautifying the City of Lights and keeping it whole during the heady days of the 1968 riots. As president in the 1990s and early 2000s, Chirac took controversial steps to privatize the economy and plan the European Union. Chirac seldom pulls punches and in several dramatic chapters describes his opposition to the US invasion of Iraq in 2002 and his personal meetings with George W. Bush. These landmark events are brought into sharp focus in this memoir that the popular French magazine Paris Match said "steals the show" even after its author decamped the presidential palace.

My Global Life

A Conversation with Raymond Malley

My Global Life

Persons interested in foreign affairs and global business will be fascinated by this conversation with retired senior diplomat and business executive RAYMOND MALLEY. It vividly describes his role during the Cold War in negotiating and managing foreign aid programs in key countries of Asia and Africa, and in formulating and introducing policies amidst political infighting in Washington and Paris. Reflecting on his experience as a senior executive with a major Korean industrial manufacturing group, Malley also shares his views on the complex operations of global business.

Story of My Life

The Autobiography of George Sand

Story of My Life


My Paris Kitchen

Recipes and Stories

My Paris Kitchen

A collection of stories and 100 sweet and savory French-inspired recipes from popular food blogger David Lebovitz, reflecting the way Parisians eat today and featuring lush photography taken around Paris and in David's Parisian kitchen. In 2004, David Lebovitz packed up his most treasured cookbooks, a well-worn cast-iron skillet, and his laptop and moved to Paris. In that time, the culinary culture of France has shifted as a new generation of chefs and home cooks—most notably in Paris—incorporates ingredients and techniques from around the world into traditional French dishes. In My Paris Kitchen, David remasters the classics, introduces lesser-known fare, and presents 100 sweet and savory recipes that reflect the way modern Parisians eat today. You’ll find Soupe à l’oignon, Cassoulet, Coq au vin, and Croque-monsieur, as well as Smoky barbecue-style pork, Lamb shank tagine, Dukkah-roasted cauliflower, Salt cod fritters with tartar sauce, and Wheat berry salad with radicchio, root vegetables, and pomegranate. And of course, there’s dessert: Warm chocolate cake with salted butter caramel sauce, Duck fat cookies, Bay leaf poundcake with orange glaze, French cheesecake...and the list goes on. David also shares stories told with his trademark wit and humor, and lush photography taken on location around Paris and in David’s kitchen reveals the quirks, trials, beauty, and joys of life in the culinary capital of the world.

Living My Life

Living My Life

Volume 2 of the candid, no-holds-barred account by foremost American anarchist Goldman continues with the fascinating story of her life, the anarchist movement, her famous contemporaries, and their influential ideas.

Breathing Paris

Breathing Paris

Shy, artistic Margaret Braither inhabits a world of color created by her synesthesia. Experiencing sounds and smells as colors is inspiring for an artist, but it doesn't help her lead the "normal" existence her mother desires for her. Desperate to get away from her parents and become her own person, she seizes her opportunity to study art at the prestigious Ecole des Beaux Arts in Paris. While there, she struggles to adjust to a new culture, but eventually finds a place for herself, first through friendship, and then through love. Just when she's learned to live fearlessly, everything crashes in on her, and she must choose between mending her relationship and turning to the man who's loved her from afar. Facing her dilemma forces her to face herself, as well as her troubled relationship with her mother, showing her that life, like art, requires perspective and grace. Born and raised in California, Erin Headley fell in love with the French language and culture while in high school. She went on to major in French at Mills College, spending part of her junior year in Paris. She was fortunate enough to live with a French family, as well as study Art History (straight out of the museums), French Drama, and French Civilization. She kept a copious journal while there, which provided much of the background detail for her novel.