Book Girl and the Wayfarer's Lamentation (light novel)

Book Girl and the Wayfarer's Lamentation (light novel)

While Konoha is aware that he will soon be losing his book-eating club president when she ventures off to college, a new relationship blossoms between him and the once standoffish Kotobuki. The two even manage to spend New Year's Day together! However, the dawn of the new year also ushers in the return of a familiar face - a girl whose every line Konoha has memorized and one the heartbroken boy thought he would never see again. Just as she reenters his life, though, Konoha feels the ties he has established with the people around him begin to sever... Can a simple book girl shed some much-needed insight on the situation before it's too late?

Nobu West

Nobu West

I always put something special in my food-my heart, or kokoro as we say in Japanese-and, you, of course, must put your own heart into your own cooking." --Nobu Matsuhisa * Nobu is one of the most loved and best-known celebrity chefs in North America, respected as a culinary innovator of easily prepared, culturally fused Japanese cuisine. Nobu draws upon his extensive training in Tokyo and his life abroad in Peru, Argentina, and Alaska, as well as his own Michelin-rated, award-winning restaurants worldwide, to create unusual and ingenious East-meets-West dishes like Chilled Pea Shoot Soup with Caviar, Oysters with Pancetta, Iberian Pork Shabu Shabu, and the Japanese Mojito, which herald his ability to explore a confluence of cultures and tastes. Nobu style is synonymous with flexibility, freshness, quality, and above all, simplicity. Nobu West is for cooks of all experience levels, providing advice; descriptions of unfamiliar flavorings, ingredients, and techniques; and helpful step-by-step illustrations along with tantalizing, full-color photographs.

Nobu

The Cookbook

Nobu

With his multinational and ever expanding empire of thirteen restaurants, Nobu Matsuhisa has become one of the most talked-about international restaurateurs and arguably the world's greatest sushi chef. In his first, long awaited book, Nobu: The Cookbook, Matsuhisa reveals the secrets of his exciting, cutting-edge Japanese cuisine. Nobu's culinary creations are based on the practice of simplicity the art of using simple techniques to bring out the flavors in the best ingredients the world's oceans have to offer and on his unique combinations of Japanese cuisine and imaginative Western, particularly South American, cooking. While simplicity may be the rule in his cooking, exotic ingredients are the key to his signature style: in Matsuhisa Shrimp he combines shiitake mushrooms, shiso leaves, and caviar; Octopus Tiradito is made with yuzu juice and rocoto chili paste; he even gives away the secrets to making his world-famous Seafood Ceviche, Nobu Style. In all, fifty original recipes for fish and seafood are included with step-by-step instructions and lavish color photographs. It features all Nobu's signature dishes along with salads, vegetable dishes, and dessert recipes, while a special chapter about pairing drinks with the meals rounds out the selections. A chapter dedicated to sushi instructs readers how to make Nobu's own original Soft Shell Crab Roll, Salmon Skin Roll and House Special Roll. Throughout the book the author shares stories of his rich and varied life: his childhood memories of rural Japan; the beginning of his career; his meteoric rise to the top, as one of the most renowned chefs of his generation. Featuring a preface by Robert De Niro, a foreword by Martha Stewart and an afterward by Japanese actor Ken Takakura, Nobu: The Cookbook is sure to be the season's hottest cookbook and a sure-fire classic for Japanese cooks and foodies alike.

Nobu

A Memoir

Nobu

“In this outstanding memoir, chef and restaurateur Matsuhisa...shares lessons in humility, gratitude, and empathy that will stick with readers long after they’ve finished the final chapter.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) A fascinating and unique memoir by the acclaimed celebrity chef and international restaurateur, Nobu, as he divulges both his dramatic life story and reflects on the philosophy and passion that has made him one of the world’s most widely respected Japanese fusion culinary artists. Nobu needs no introduction. One of the world’s most widely acclaimed restaurateurs, his influence on food and hospitality can be found at the highest levels of haute-cuisine to the food trucks you frequent during the work week—this is the Nobu that the public knows. But now, we are finally introduced to the private Nobu: the man who failed three times before starting the restaurant that would grow into an empire; the man who credits the love and support of his wife and children as the only thing keeping him from committing suicide when his first restaurant burned down; and the man who values the busboy who makes sure each glass is crystal clear as highly as the chef who slices the fish for Omakase perfectly. What makes Nobu special, and what made him famous, is the spirit of what exists on these pages. He has the traditional Japanese perspective that there is great pride to be found in every element of doing a job well—no matter how humble that job is. Furthermore, he shows us repeatedly that success is as much about perseverance in the face of adversity as it is about innate talent. Not just for serious foodies, this inspiring memoir is perfect for fans of Marie Kondo’s The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and Danny Meyer’s Setting the Table. Nobu’s writing does what he does best—it marries the philosophies of East and West to create something entirely new and remarkable.

Modular Origami with Super Nobu Unit

Super Simple, Super Versatile Unit That Can Be Assembled in Many Different Ways

Modular Origami with Super Nobu Unit

This book includes full color, step-by-step instructions and many color photos of more than a dozen, 2D and 3D modular origami models. All the models and their variations are made with one very simple and uniquely versatile module (unit). Tomoko Fuse, one of the most respected and admired modular origami artists in the world, called it "an amazing unit she had not seen before" and personally gave it the name "Super Nobu Unit." If you are interested in the field of modular origami and looking for a new type of module, this book will provide hours of folding fun and intrigue.

Extreme DV at Used-Car Prices

How to Write, Direct, Shoot, Edit, and Produce a Digital Video Feature for LessT han $3,000

Extreme DV at Used-Car Prices

For years, award-winning independent filmmaker Rick Schmidt has been teaching aspiring directors how to make “no-budget” films, both in workshops and in his classic guide Feature Filmmaking at Used-Car Prices. Now Schmidt shows them how it is easier—and cheaper—than ever to make an innovative, high quality work, thanks to digital video. Filled with the latest information on equipment and software, ideas for experimenting with new moviemaking techniques, and advice based on Schmidt’s own experiences, Extreme DV at Used-Car Prices offers a step-by-step guided tour through the making of a feature-length movie using the newest and ever-changing DV technology. Schmidt shows how to: • Take a DV project from idea to script (written or improvised), contract to pre-production and into the shoot • Work with—and rally—the cast and crew • Select affordable digital equipment to make a cutting-edge DV feature • Edit a DV movie electronically with Final Cut Pro • Promote one’s work guerilla-style • Live (and budget) creatively as a moviemaker • Look ahead to what’s on the DV horizon Instructive and inspiring, this one-of-a-kind book is essential reading for filmmakers with lots of ideas but little money.

Japan

Being a Sketch of the History, Government and Officers of the Empire

Japan


Light and Dark

A Novel

Light and Dark

Light and Dark, Natsume Soseki's longest novel and masterpiece, although unfinished, is a minutely observed study of haute-bourgeois manners on the eve of World War I. It is also a psychological portrait of a new marriage that achieves a depth and exactitude of character revelation that had no precedent in Japan at the time of its publication and has not been equaled since. With Light and Dark, Soseki invented the modern Japanese novel. Recovering in a clinic following surgery, thirty-year-old Tsuda Yoshio receives visits from a procession of intimates: his coquettish young wife, O-Nobu; his unsparing younger sister, O-Hide, who blames O-Nobu's extravagance for her brother's financial difficulties; his self-deprecating friend, Kobayashi, a ne'er-do-well and troublemaker who might have stepped from the pages of a Dostoevsky novel; and his employer's wife, Madam Yoshikawa, a conniving meddler with a connection to Tsuda that is unknown to the others. Divergent interests create friction among this closely interrelated cast of characters that explodes into scenes of jealousy, rancor, and recrimination that will astonish Western readers conditioned to expect Japanese reticence. Released from the clinic, Tsuda leaves Tokyo to continue his convalescence at a hot-springs resort. For reasons of her own, Madam Yoshikawa informs him that a woman who inhabits his dreams, Kiyoko, is staying alone at the same inn, recovering from a miscarriage. Dissuading O-Nobu from accompanying him, Tsuda travels to the spa, a lengthy journey fraught with real and symbolic obstacles that feels like a passage from one world to another. He encounters Kiyoko, who attempts to avoid him, but finally manages a meeting alone with her in her room. Soseki's final scene is a sublime exercise in indirection that leaves Tsuda to "explain the meaning of her smile."

International Handbook of Research in Arts Education

International Handbook of Research in Arts Education

Providing a distillation of knowledge in the various disciplines of arts education (dance, drama, music, literature and poetry and visual arts), this essential handbook synthesizes existing research literature, reflects on the past, and contributes to shaping the future of the respective and integrated disciplines of arts education. While research can at times seem distant from practice, the Handbook aims to maintain connection with the live practice of art and of education, capturing the vibrancy and best thinking in the field of theory and practice. The Handbook is organized into 13 sections, each focusing on a major area or issue in arts education research.