Rebellion Now and Forever

Mayas, Hispanics, and Caste War Violence in Yucatan, 1800–1880

Rebellion Now and Forever

This book explores the origins, process, and consequences of forty years of nearly continual political violence in southeastern Mexico. Rather than recounting the well-worn narrative of the Caste War, it focuses instead on how four decades of violence helped shape social and political institutions of the Mexican southeast. Rebellion Now and Forever looks at Yucatán's famous Caste War from the perspective of the vast majority of Hispanics and Maya peasants who did not join in the great ethnic rebellion of 1847. It shows how the history of nonrebel territory was as dramatic and as violent as the front lines of the Caste War, and of greater significance for the larger evolution of Mexican society. The work explores political violence not merely as a method and process, but also as a molder of subsequent institutions and practices.

For Now and Forever

For Now and Forever

New York Times bestselling author Diana Palmer delivers two classic tales of finding love in the most unexpected places. Dark Surrender When Maggie Sterline causes an accident that changes Saxon Tremayne’s life forever, she’ll do anything to right her wrongs. Even if that means staying in South Carolina to care for the fierce, accomplished giant whose world has suddenly turned dark. Though Saxon’s raw emotions are unsettling, Maggie is able to help him confront his new reality, and soon the beauty is drawn to this beast. Can she resist his knee-weakening kisses and passionate embraces? Color Love Blue Bumping headlong into sexy stranger Nick Scarpelli shakes artist Jolana Shannon’s head out of the clouds. He’s drop-dead gorgeous and incredibly arrogant, and surrendering to passion with him is utter bliss. But when Nick makes it clear he doesn’t want forever with Jolana, it breaks her heart. Still, memories of Nick linger—until one day he resurfaces in her life. Could the man who walked away offer her everything she’s ever wanted?

Now and Forever

Now and Forever

Romance takes center stage in this rockin' love story from Susane Colasanti. Great for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen! Sterling is crazy in love with Ethan. Not only is he the sweetest boy she’s ever met, but he's an incredibly talented guitarist, singer, and songwriter. And since forever, he’s believed he has what it takes to be a star. When Ethan becomes an overnight sensation, he’s thrown head-first into the glam world of celebrity—and so is Sterling. Before she knows it, she’s attending red-carpet premieres, getting free designer clothes, and flying around the country to attend Ethan’s monumental sold-out concerts. It’s a dream come true…but whose dream is Sterling living? And what do you do when “forever” comes to an end?

Now and Forever

The Responsibilities of Sex : Teacher Manual

Now and Forever

Appropriate for high school classroom use, this curriculum addresses the issue of teen sexuality with lesson plans and activities to promote responsibility. Containing activities in a workbook format, this will equip teachers, parents, and other community members with basic, usable skills to effectively teach the responsibilities of sex. It provides modules for adoption/relinquishment, single parenthood, abstinence, abortion, teen marriage, birth/death, STDs/AIDS, sexual abuse/incest, rape/date rape, and verbatim interviews.Teacher Manual: modules contain an introduction, objectives, means to develop students' interest, activities, portfolio projects, and evaluation suggestions.

Now and Forever

Now and Forever

Alexandra Frost has lost her mind. Not really. She just can't remember the first eighteen years of her life. Jace Tyler McKinney, on the other hand, remembers all too well. He remembers how he and Lexi, as he calls her, planned to elope the day of their high school graduation. He remembers how much they loved one another. And he remembers how an accident on the early morning of their graduation took her life. As fate would have it, and unbeknownst to Jace, Lexi, didn't die, but lost her memory. Felix Ogden, driver of the truck in the accident, has never forgotten the two people who he believes destroyed him. The three of them collide ten years after the accident. Who will survive? Will it be Lexi whose memory escapes her? Will it be Jace who has never forgotten the love of his life? Or will it be Felix Ogden who is on a collision course with death. As an HPD detective, Jace is forced, by love and duty, to keep Lexi safe from the diabolical plans of Felix Ogden. to fail will bring death to them both. And Lexi can't understand why the handsome detective evokes feelings she only has in her dreams. Ten years can't erase the passion that blossomed between them. Nor can murder, kidnapping, lies and deceit keep them apart. But can they overcome the obstacles thrown in their path and love again? Now and forever, is filled with passion between two people who loved one another a lifetime ago. Will the lovers find their way back? Or will they die trying?

Now and Forever

Now and Forever


Now and Forever

Now and Forever

Although Jessica and Ian Clarke have been married seven years, they insist the thrill and excitement haven't dimmed. At Jessica's urging, Ian has quit his advertising job to become a struggling writer, and she supports him with her successful San Francisco boutique. Ian's financial dependence on Jessica upsets him more than he admits, and in a moment of bored malaise, Ian's first casual indiscretion will create a nightmare that threatens everything Jessica and Ian have carefully built. What he does changes their lives, and them, perhaps forever, as they struggle to pay the price of his foolhardy affair. From the Paperback edition.

Now and Forever

Now and Forever

Two years ago Bernie Nolan was given the initial all-clear after a courageous battle with breast cancer. Over the moon, Bernie set about rebuilding her life and making plans for the future. Then in the summer of 2012, she was in her bedroom getting dressed when she found a lump just above her breast. Terrified, she immediately made a hospital appointment, where she was given the devastating news that the cancer had returned. It had spread to her brain, lungs, liver and bones and was incurable. Bernie's first thought was of her daughter. Erin had just turned thirteen and was approaching a time when young girls need their mums more than ever. In true Bernie spirit she vowed not to let the cancer stop her from being 'Mum'. Bernie always said that her family was her greatest achievement and she wanted to be the best wife and mother she could be in the time she had left. In this book Bernie shares her struggle to become a mother - the miscarriage she suffered and the heartbreaking stillbirth of her daughter Kate, and the joyous arrival of her beautiful daughter Erin. Bernie loved seeing this book published and was thrilled when it became a number 1 bestseller. It meant a great deal to her that so many people wanted to read her story. This is a memoir brimming with happy memories, and although Bernie tragically lost her battle on the 4th July 2013, she lives on in the hearts of the nation and in the pages of this book. Moving and wonderfully warm-hearted, this is a powerful story of a remarkable life and a mother's brave fight against a vicious disease.

Between Now And Forever (Callaways #4)

Between Now And Forever (Callaways #4)

"Heartbreaking, tender and romantic. This one tugs on the heartstrings." Karen Nicole met Ryan when he was a handsome, cocky teenager with a desire to fly high above the clouds. Ryan encouraged Nicole to dream big and promised her a lifetime of happiness, but several years into their lives together, they were faced with obstacles bigger than either had ever imagined. Their love faltered. They lost their way and considered what had once been unthinkable—the end of their forever. But now fate throws them a curve, an event that forces them back together, that strips their emotions bare and is both terrifying and strangely unifying. For the first time in a long while they have to face each other, and not only talk but also listen, because their lives depend on it—not only their lives, but also the life of their six-year-old son. Secrets and lies frame a perilous journey to the truth that takes Nicole and Ryan to Angel's Bay, a place where miracles sometimes happen. But in order to get that miracle, Nicole and Ryan must work together and learn how to trust and love each other again. Only then will they be able to save their family and find their way to happily ever after. What the readers are saying… "I loved, loved, loved this book. This author has a way of weaving a love story around chaos. This book takes readers through ups and downs and just when you think you have figured it out, you’re thrown for a loop. I loved every second of it." Nicole "The author has found the perfect balance of mystery and romance in BETWEEN NOW AND FOREVER. And my God, the mystery in this book was just too good – I loved the concept completely. This has to be my favorite book in the Series." Bookish Indulgences "I really love this series and the Callaway family. Beautifully written; it makes you want to hold your loved ones close." Krista "This was such an endearing book of love, forgiveness, family, suspense, surprises and miracles. It was a hard book to put down. I have loved this series so much. Seems like each book gets better and better. I would give this book more than 5 stars if I could. Excellent romance, drama." Becky "BETWEEN NOW AND FOREVER is a riveting read filled with heart-wrenching emotion. If you enjoy an emotionally-charged story with a great building of suspense and a heart-warming second chance romance, then you will love Between Now and Forever." Vicki Also Available: The Callaways On A Night Like This #1 So This Is Love #2 Falling For a Stranger #3 Between Now and Forever #4 Nobody But You #5 – (Novella) All A Heart Needs #6 That Summer Night #7 When Shadows Fall #8 Somewhere Only We Know #9 The Callaway Cousins If I Didn't Know Better #1 Tender Is The Night #2 Take Me Home #3 (Novella) Closer To You #4 Once You're Mine #5 Can't Let Go #6 Secrets We Keep #7 Whisper Lake Spin-Off Series Always With Me #1 My Wildest Dream #2 Can't Fight The Moonlight #3 Just One Kiss #4

Growth: Now and Forever?

Growth: Now and Forever?

Forecasters often predict continued rapid economic growth into the medium and long term for countries that have recently experienced strong growth. Using long-term forecasts of economic growth from the IMF/World Bank staff Debt Sustainability Analyses for a panel of countries, we show that the baseline forecasts are more optimistic than warranted by past international growth experience. Further, by comparing the IMF’s World Economic Outlook forecasts with actual growth outcomes, we show that optimism bias is greater the longer the forecast horizon.