Royal Harlot

Royal harlot: a novel of the Countess of Castlemaine and King Charles II/Susan Holloway Scott. p. cm. eISBN: 978-0-451-22134-6 1. Cleveland, Barbara Villiers Palmer, Duchess of, 1641-1709—Fiction. 2. Charles II, King of England, ...

Royal Harlot

London, 1660: Ready to throw off a generation of Puritan rule, all England rejoices when Charles Stuart returns to reclaim the throne. Among those welcoming him is young Barbara Villiers Palmer, a breathtaking Royalist beauty whose sensuality and clever wit instantly captivate the handsome, jaded king. Though each is promised to another, Barbara soon becomes Charles's mistress and closest friend, and the uncrowned queen of his bawdy Restoration court. Rewarded with titles, land, and jewels, she is the most envied and desired woman in England--and the most powerful. But the role of royal mistress is a precarious one, and Barbara's enemies and rivals are everywhere in the palace.

Royal Harlot

It threatens British power . So Palmerston interferes . He sends you to come between the prince and his proper wife , the Princess Sylvana . " “ Sylvana ? ” Leonie echoed , astonished . " 142 Royal Harlot.

Royal Harlot

Royal Harlot by Lucy Gordon released on Mar 25, 1994 is available now for purchase.

Hebrew Criticism and Poetry Or the Patriarchal Blessings of Isaac and of Jacob Metrically Analysed and Translated

Judah appears represented as a royal harlot or adulteress to Babylon and to Israel ; as reduced to the brink of the grave by variety and fatigue , but as yet rallying and persevering ; as deriving her support from her lovers ...

Hebrew Criticism and Poetry   Or the Patriarchal Blessings of Isaac and of Jacob  Metrically Analysed and Translated


The Quarterly Review

Mrs. Johnson , ' says our indignant critic , was only a decent married woman ; had she been a royal harlot , Macaulay , instead of mocking her “ cerise bloom , ” might himself have laid on the colours with an ardour and a skill scarcely ...

The Quarterly Review


Hebrew Criticism and Poetry

Judah appears represented as a royal harlot or adulteress to Babylon and to Israel ; às reduced to the brink of the grave by variety and fatigue , but as yet rallying and persevering ; as deriving her support from her lovers ...

Hebrew Criticism and Poetry


Against Nature

could not even be likened to the living image of Babylonish Whoredom, or the Scarlet Woman, the Royal Harlot of Revelations, bedecked like her with precious stones and purple, tired and painted like her; for she was not driven by a ...

Against Nature

A classic account of the quest for enlarged experience and new sensations, this 1884 novel scandalized Victorian critics with its break from naturalism and embrace of fin-de-siècle decadence.

Harlot s Ghost

He owned the Miami Stadium and a cheap motel. That was where we lived. At his motel. The Royal Palms.” Kittredge, I am afraid I interrupted Martínez here. “The Royal Palms,” I said, “is exactly where I stayed when I first came to Miami.

Harlot s Ghost

With unprecedented scope and consummate skill, Norman Mailer unfolds a rich and riveting epic of an American spy. Harry Hubbard is the son and godson of CIA legends. His journey to learn the secrets of his society—and his own past—takes him through the Bay of Pigs, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and the “momentous catastrophe” of the Kennedy assassination. All the while, Hubbard is haunted by women who were loved by both his godfather and President Kennedy. Featuring a tapestry of unforgettable characters both real and imagined, Harlot’s Ghost is a panoramic achievement in the tradition of Tolstoy, Melville, and Balzac, a triumph of Mailer’s literary prowess. Praise for Harlot’s Ghost “[Norman Mailer is] the right man to exalt the history of the CIA into something better than history.”—Anthony Burgess, The Washington Post Book World “Elegantly written and filled with almost electric tension . . . When I returned from the world of Harlot’s Ghost to the present I wished to be enveloped again by Mailer’s imagination.”—Robert Wilson, USA Today “Immense, fascinating, and in large part brilliant.”—Salman Rushdie, The Independent on Sunday “A towering creation . . . a fiction as real and as possible as actual history.”—The New York Times Praise for Norman Mailer “[Norman Mailer] loomed over American letters longer and larger than any other writer of his generation.”—The New York Times “A writer of the greatest and most reckless talent.”—The New Yorker “Mailer is indispensable, an American treasure.”—The Washington Post “A devastatingly alive and original creative mind.”—Life “Mailer is fierce, courageous, and reckless and nearly everything he writes has sections of headlong brilliance.”—The New York Review of Books “The largest mind and imagination [in modern] American literature . . . Unlike just about every American writer since Henry James, Mailer has managed to grow and become richer in wisdom with each new book.”—Chicago Tribune “Mailer is a master of his craft. His language carries you through the story like a leaf on a stream.”—The Cincinnati Post

A Harlot s Progress

Carlos drove to the Palais Royal at a pace which precluded all fear of pursuit . ... Europe , my girl , ' said Carlos , leading the creature > into a corner of the boudoir where no one could 186 A Harlot's Progress.

A Harlot s Progress


The Harlot s Daughter

“It seems,” she said, forcing her lips to move, “that I am no more royal than you are.” He grabbed the letter, skimming the lines, vague enough that if the ... A hollow ache opened in her chest, but she didn't The Harlot's Daughter 244.

The Harlot s Daughter

Her vulnerability made her dangerous... Lady Solay's eyes met those of a hard-edged man. His implacable gaze sliched through her and, for an instant, she forgot everything else. A mistake. She had no time for emotion when so much depended on her finding favor at court. Lord Justin Lamont couldn't look away from the late king's scandalous--illegitimate--daughter. Head held high, she walked as if the court adored her. No matter the pain in her eyes, Justin resolutely snuffed out a spark of sympathy. He must guard against her bewitching charms...

Tait s Edinburgh Magazine

The “ voluptuous vixen , ” who is certainly the most impudent , as well as the most rapacious royal harlot upon record , was probably somewhat indebted for the brightening of her charms to court flatterers . If Dryden could compare her ...

Tait s Edinburgh Magazine


The Harlot s Press

Status, access, the preferments which come with our royal favour – all lost, most likely. Worse, my cousin has advertised himself as a supporter of radical politics, and his enemies will not see that he has done this for the very ...

The Harlot s Press

London, 1820: George IV is to be crowned King at last. But will his estranged wife Caroline be allowed to join him as Queen? The city is in turmoil, as her radical supporters rally to her cause and threaten to overturn the government.

The Countess and the King

If anything, Royal Harlot is an even more assured, nuanced, and colorful portrait of a woman and her age. . . . In her intriguing portrayal, Scott tempers Barbara's rapacious sexuality while presenting a Charles who seems far less ...

The Countess and the King

Katherine Sedley lived by her own rules and loved who she pleased- until she became the infamous mistress of King James II... London, 1675: Born to wealth and privilege, Katherine is introduced to the decadent court of King Charles II, and quickly becomes a favorite from the palace to the bawdy playhouses. She gleefully snubs respectable marriage to become the Duke of York's mistress. But Katherine's life of carefree pleasure ends when Charles II dies, and her lover becomes King James II. Suddenly she is cast into a tangle of political intrigue, religious dissent, and ever-shifting alliances, where a wrong step can mean treason, exile, or death at the executioner's block. As the risks rise, Katherine is forced to make the most perilous of choices: to remain loyal to the king, or to England.

The Greatest Scottish Novels Tales in One Edition

Table of Contents Bid not thy fortune troll upon the wheels Of yonder dancing cubes of mottled bone; And drown it not, like Egypt's royal harlot, Dissolving her rich pearl in the brimm'd wine-cup. These are the arts, Lothario, ...

The Greatest Scottish Novels   Tales in One Edition

Musaicum Books presents the greatest historical novels, adventure classics, legends, romance novels and war stories set in Scottish highlands and moors. Contents: Robert Louis Stevenson: Kidnapped Catriona Black Arrow: A Tale of the Two Roses The Master of Ballantrae: A Winter's Tale Weir of Hermiston Walter Scott: Waverley Guy Mannering The Antiquary Rob Roy Ivanhoe Kenilworth The Pirate The Fortunes of Nigel Peveril of the Peak Quentin Durward St. Ronan's Well Redgauntlet Woodstock The Fair Maid of Perth Anne of Geierstein Old Mortality The Black Dwarf The Heart of Midlothian The Bride of Lammermoor A Legend of Montrose Count Robert of Paris Castle Dangerous The Monastery The Abbot The Betrothed The Talisman John Buchan: The Thirty-Nine Steps The Three Hostages Huntingtower Castle Gay The Power-House John Macnab Sir Quixote of the Moors John Burnet of Barns A Lost Lady of Old Years The Half-Hearted Salute to Adventurers Midwinter Witch Wood The Free Fishers O. Douglas: Olivia in India The Setons Penny Plain Ann and Her Mother Pink Sugar The Proper Place The Day of Small Things Priorsford Taken by the Hand Jane's Parlour The House That Is Our Own George MacDonald: David Elginbrod Alec Forbes of Howglen Robert Falconer Ranald Bannerman's Boyhood What's Mine's Mine The Elect Lady Heather and Snow Salted with Fire Malcolm The Marquis of Lossie Sir Gibbie Donal Grant J. M. Barrie: Auld Licht Idylls A Window in Thrums The Little Minister Sentimental Tommy Tommy and Grizel

The New Review

Spurn me , Rei ; strike me on the cheek , spit upon me , upon Meriamun , the Royal harlot who sells herself to win a crown . Oh , I hate him , hate him , and I will pay him in shame for shame — him , the clown in king's attire .

The New Review


The fortunes of Nigel

CHAPTER X. Bid not thy fortune troll upon the wheels Of yonder dancing cubes of mottled bune ; And drown it not , like Egypt's royal harlot , Dissolving her rich pearl in the brimm'd wine - cup . These are the arts , Lothario , which ...

The fortunes of Nigel


The Novels Tales and Romances of the Author of Waverley

CHAPTER X. Bid not thy fortune troll upon the wheels of yonder dancing cubes of mottled bone ; And drown it not , like Egypt's royal harlot , Dissolving her rich pearl in the brimm'd wine - cup . These are the arts , Lothario , which ...

The Novels  Tales and Romances of the Author of Waverley


Waverley Novels

CHAPTER X. Bid not thy fortune troll upon the wheel Of yonder dancing cubes of mottled bone And drown it not , like Egypt's royal harlot , Dissolving her rich pearl in the brimm'd wine - cup . These are the arts , Lothario , which ...

Waverley Novels