Search for the Magical Multilingual Frog

Listen in on frog conversations on every continent from Europe to Australia, Africa, Asia and back to South and North America.

Search for the Magical Multilingual Frog

Listen in on frog conversations on every continent from Europe to Australia, Africa, Asia and back to South and North America. You will be surprised what frogs talk about under a full moon in the middle of the night or in Hawaii in the moist moss under a palm tree. Rodney Randall, an Olympic Peninsula Tree frog travels the world on a hunt for the Magical Multilingual Frog. He stops in Hawaii, Japan, China, Israel, Turkey, Denmark, England, South Africa, Peru, Mexico, Canada and more. On his way he meets frogs from more than 52 different countries and learns how to croak: "Ribbit", "Kero-Kero", "Kwa-Kwa", "Aha, Aha, Aha", "Berp-Berp", "Thinap-Thinap", and "Op-Op" in many, many languages. Follow Rodney and learn with him about fascinating languages and stories from around the globe. "A wonderful story for children and young at heart students of language." ―Kaeru Anura

Stars and Keys

It seems appropriate to multilingual Mauritius that M. L'Allouette's plot resembles a predominantly European tale, ... D1472.1.9, Magic pot supplies food and drink; H946.1, Task assigned from misunderstanding: search for prince named ...

Stars and Keys

In Stars and Keys: Folktales and Creolization in the Southwest Indian Ocean, Lee Haring introduces readers to the rich folklore traditions of the islands of the southwest Indian Ocean. The culture of Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Réunion, and the Comoros is a unique blend of traditions that have been brought from Africa, South Asia, Europe, and the Middle East. The folktales from these islands reflect the diversity of this culture and provide a rare opportunity to observe the fluidity of traditions and the process of creolization. Haring presents the tales in a uniquely innovative style: he interrupts the text as if he were reading aloud and directly addresses the reader. His words and those of the storytellers are clearly distinguished, making this folktale collection useful to a wide range of readers and scholars.

In Search of Canadian Materials

She has convinced herself that they are magic , just like the ones in a Russian fairy tale , and that they will grant ... They weren't particularly interested in the multilingual aspect ; they found the birds hard to find in some of the ...

In Search of Canadian Materials


Beyond the Sky and the Earth

notion of an untouched magical little world. ... “Look,” she says. ... In the twilight, the percussion of frogs and crickets and cicadas rises up from the marsh below the staff quarters, and I meditate, legs folded under me, ...

Beyond the Sky and the Earth

In the tradition of Iron and Silk and Touch the Dragon, Jamie Zeppa’s memoir of her years in Bhutan is the story of a young woman’s self-discovery in a foreign land. It is also the exciting début of a new voice in travel writing. When she left for the Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan in 1988, Zeppa was committing herself to two years of teaching and a daunting new experience. A week on a Caribbean beach had been her only previous trip outside Canada; Bhutan was on the other side of the world, one of the most isolated countries in the world known as the last Shangri-La, where little had changed in centuries and visits by foreigners were restricted. Clinging to her bags full of chocolate, hair conditioner and Immodium, she began the biggest challenge of her life, with no idea she would fall in love with the country and with a Bhutanese man, end up spending nine years in Bhutan, and begin a literary career with her account of this transformative journey. At her first posting in a remote village of eastern Bhutan, she is plunged into an overwhelmingly different culture with squalid Third World conditions and an impossible language. Her house has rats and fleas and she refuses to eat the local food, fearing the rampant deadly infections her overly protective grandfather warned her about. Gradually, however, her fear vanishes. She adjusts, begins to laugh, and is captivated by the pristine mountain scenery and the kind students in her grade 2 class. She also begins to discover for herself the spiritual serenity of Buddhism. A transfer to the government college of Sherubtse, where the housing conditions are comparatively luxurious and the students closer to her own age, gives her a deeper awareness of Bhutan’s challenges: the lack of personal privacy, the pressure to conform, and the political tensions. However, her connection to Bhutan intensifies when she falls in love with a student, Tshewang, and finds herself pregnant. After a brief sojourn in Canada to give birth to her son, Pema Dorji, she marries Tshewang and makes Bhutan her home for another four years. Zeppa’s personal essay about her culture shock on arriving in Bhutan won the 1996 CBC/Saturday Night literary competition and appeared in the magazine. She flew home to accept the prize, where people encouraged her to pursue her writing. Her letters from Bhutan also featured on CBC’s Morningside. The book that grew out of this has been published in Canada and the United States to ecstatic reviews, followed by British, German, Dutch, Italian and Spanish editions. Although cultural differences finally separated Jamie and Tshewang in 1997 while she was writing the book and she returned to Canada, she will always feel at home in Bhutan. Zeppa shares her compelling insights into this land and culture, but Beyond the Sky and the Earth is more than a travel book. With rich, spellbinding prose and bright humour, it describes a personal journey in which Zeppa acquires a deeper understanding of what it means to leave one’s home behind, and undergoes a spiritual transformation.

Canadian Books in Print Author and Title Index

Raven Rock , 1999 $ 7.95 paper ( 1-894303-03-2 ] CIP - Kailee and the frog prince . ... Penumbra , 1990 Multilingual ed . ... When the giants came to town ( 0-9683234-5-6 ) ; Ésio Trot [ 0-9683449-3-3 ) ; The magic finger ...

Canadian Books in Print  Author and Title Index


Canadian Books in Print

Raven Rock , 1999 $ 7.95 paper ( 1-894303-03-2 ] CIP - Kailee and the frog prince . ... Penumbra , 1990 Multilingual ed . ... When the giants came to town 10-9683234-5-6 ) ; Esio Trot [ 0-9683449-3-3 ) ; The magic finger ...

Canadian Books in Print


NewMedia

... 168 Fête et Maths Col : Maths & Brillant , 169 Fin Fin on Teo , The Magic Planet , 169 Finding the Balance - Environmental and ... 181 Frog and Toad are Friends , 181 The Frog Prince , 181 Fun Around Town ( Mac ) , 183 Fun Cube 2.

NewMedia


Kaapse bibliotekaris

( Please frog , just one sip ! ) Hough , Barrie . Droomwa. ... Mohlolo wa mme Mabena ( Mama Mabena's magic ) .Cambridge University Press , The Little Library * Stewart ... Mmabana o batla dikinane ( A mother's search for stories ) .

Kaapse bibliotekaris

Issues for Nov. 1957- include section: Accessions. Aanwinste, Sept. 1957-

Sanctuary Asia

K. JAYARAM " se mating Rhacophorus malabaricus frogs may eat their body weight in insects every day . ... Magical forests such as Sinharaja , illapattu and Uda Walawe , home to opards , elephants , wild buffaloes , sloth ears and crocs ...

Sanctuary Asia


CD ROMs in Print

... 172 CD - ROM Multilingual Dictionary Database , 172 CD - ROM School Disc , 173 Cell City , 175 CELL Search ... 270 Crocadoo Gone Troppo , 271 Crossword Express , 272 Crossword Magic , 272 Crossword Studio , 272 The Cruncher ...

CD ROMs in Print


Books Out Loud

( Pg . 810 ) - The Frog Prince : Theatre Package . Mike & Me . ( Pg . 810 ) Callner , Jan & Wheeler , Bill . The Magic Fish : The Fisherman & His Wife . ... Italo Calvino - le Litta Invisibili : Multilingual Books Literature .

Books Out Loud


Quill Quire

... World History COMPANY'S COMING , Food & Drink CONFLICT AND COMPROMISE IN MULTILINGUAL SOCIETIES , Politics THE ... Juvenile & Young Adult FLORA'S MAGIC HOUSE , Juvenile & Young Adult FLOWERS AND PLANTS , Juvenile & Young Adult ...

Quill   Quire


Forthcoming Books

Forthcoming Books


First Thousand Words in German

MODERN LANGUAGES (IE OTHER THAN ENGLISH).

First Thousand Words in German

MODERN LANGUAGES (IE OTHER THAN ENGLISH). The classic Usborne word book as a bi-lingual German/English edition, illustrated by Stephen Cartwright. A thousand everyday words illustrated with busy scenes and labelled pictures to help children learn key German vocabulary. Ages 5+