The Butchers Blessing

Winner of the 2021 RSL Ondaatje Prize Set in the gothic wilds of Ireland, The Butchers’ Blessing is a haunting and unforgettable thriller brimming with secrecy, tradition, and superstition.

The Butchers  Blessing

"A seamless literary thriller. Absolutely riveting." —Colum McCann Set in the gothic wilds of Ireland, The Butchers’ Blessing is a haunting and unforgettable thriller brimming with secrecy, tradition, and superstition. Every year, Úna prepares for her father to leave her. He will wave goodbye early one morning, then disappear with seven other men to traverse the Irish countryside. Together, these men form the Butchers, a group that roams from farm to farm, enacting ancient methods of cattle slaughter. The Butchers’ Blessing moves between the events of 1996 and the present, offering a simmering glimpse into the modern tensions that surround these eight fabled men. For Úna, being a Butcher’s daughter means a life of tangled ambition and incredible loneliness. For her mother, Grá, it’s a life of faith and longing, of performing a promise that she may or may not be able to keep. For nonbeliever Fionn, the Butchers represent a dated and complicated reality, though for his son, Davey, they represent an entirely new world—and potentially new love. For photographer Ronan, the Butchers are ideal subjects: representatives of an older, more folkloric Ireland whose survival is now being tested. As he moves through the countryside, Ronan captures this world image by image—a lake, a cottage, and his most striking photo: a man, hung upside down in a pose of unspeakable violence. Thrilling, dark, and richly atmospheric, The Butchers’ Blessing is an engrossing incantation—mesmerizing in both language and story—conjuring a family and a country on the edge of irrevocable change.

Till the Butchers Cut Him Down

If Haddon was waiting around for Gordon when Blessing took his break, they'd go up on the roof, sit in the chopper, smoke, and gas about the good old days.

Till the Butchers Cut Him Down

Sharon McCone has just left the All-Souls Legal Cooperative and opened her own business when an eccentric friend from her UC-Berkeley days, who now specializes in rescuing failing corporations, asks her to find out who is sabotaging his efforts to save a San Francisco shipping firm and threatening his life. T. J. "Suitcase" Gordon reports some odd accidents, but McCone suspects that he might be be paranoid until there is a tragic death close to him. Unearthing possible revenge motives and another murder victim, she draws the killer's malevolent attention to herself back in San Francisco...

Milton s Century

... The Butchers Blessing, sermon-tract designed as a call to public action Nov 10 — William Walwyn, Some Considerations Tending to the Undeceiving Those, ...

Milton s Century

No artist creates his works in a vacuum. Beyond the conscious influence of books read, artwork seen, minds probed (through conversation or exchange of letters), writers are in no small part products of everything that surrounds them--people, places, things, events. MILTON'S CENTURY is designed to place one particular genius--John Milton, arguably the finest poet the English nation (perhaps even Western civilization) has produced--in the context of his time. And what a remarkable time it was--a century of revolutions, of discoveries, of literary and artistic efflorescence, of religious turmoil and political turbulence, of plagues and fires and ultimate rebuilding...and of the first adumbrations of the Modern Age. MILTON'S CENTURY becomes vital and alive for twenty-first-century readers through the vast network of connections and interconnections that Professor Collings articulates. [Borgo Literary Guides, No. 15.]

Songs for the Butcher s Daughter

In fact, the phrase became something of a birthday blessing. “Lucky as a butcher's goose,” she liked to say. In time, Father came to say this about the.

Songs for the Butcher s Daughter

Itsik Malpesh was born the son of a goose-plucking factory manager during the Russian pogroms - his life saved on the night it began by the young daughter of a kosher slaughterer. Or so he believes… Exiled during the war, Itsik eventually finds himself in New York, working as a typesetter and writing poetry to his muse, the butcher's daughter, whom he is sure he will never see again. But it is here in New York that Itsik is unexpectedly reunited with his greatest love - and, later, his greatest enemy - with results both serendipitous and tragic. His story is recounted in his memoirs thanks to the most unlikely of translators - a twenty-one-year-old Boston Catholic college student who, in meeting Itsik, has embarked upon a great lie that will define his future and the most extraordinary friendship he'll ever know.

The Butcher s Daughter

And the Star is both a blessing and a curse.” “How so?” I asked. “The Star will be one of the more powerful ships in the Caribbean. That's the blessing.

The Butcher s Daughter

In an age ruled by iron men, in a world of new discovery and Spanish gold, a young Irishwoman named Mary rises from the ashes of her broken childhood with ships and men-at-arms under her command. She and her loyal crew prowl the Caribbean and prosper in the New World for a time until the ugly past Mary has fled from in the old one finds her. Across the great ocean to the east, war is coming. The King of Spain is assembling the most powerful armada the world has ever seen - an enormous beast - to invade England and depose the “heretic” Protestant queen. To have any chance against the wealth and might of Spain, England will need every warship, she will need every able captain. To this purpose, Queen Elizabeth spares Mary from the headman’s axe for past sins in exchange for her loyalty, her ships and fighting men. Based on true historical events, this is an epic story about war, adventure, love and betrayal. This is a timeless story about vengeance. This is a tale of heartbreak…

The Butcher s Theatre

The beggar began blessing him in a high-pitched wail. The bony hand continued to shake, sifting the money as if it were grain, probing, hefting, ...

The Butcher s Theatre

Murder is never clear-cut... From the New York Times No. 1 bestselling author Jonathan Kellerman, The Butcher's Theatre is a thriller filled with tension and terror. Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben. 'A psychopathological blockbuster' - Observer In the '60s Jerusalem was dubbed 'The Butcher's Theatre'. Decades later and the City of Peace is about to regain that title. The corpse of a young Arab girl has been found - her body violated and then carved up with chilling precision. Sexual murders are virtually unheard of in Jerusalem and the killing throws an already unstable city into turmoil. Chief Inspector Daniel Shalom Sharavi, himself a Yemenite Jew, takes charge of the case. But with political and religious tensions in the city muddying the murder trail, could he be about to lose the killer in the confusion? What readers are saying about The Butcher's Theatre: 'Thoroughly absorbing' 'Just phenomenal' 'Awesome story which is gripping, pacy, a tad gory [and just a brilliant read'

A Mixture of Blessings

Collected Stories Keith Stonier. Short Story THE BUTCHER'S LAD The Butcher's Lad (1) NOVEMBER, 1941 The butcher's shop in Short Story: The Butcher's.

A Mixture of Blessings

The funny and the sad ... The good and the bad ... This carefully-written book takes the reader on a journey through a range of unconventional stories, containing an archetypal mixture of life’s emotions, behaviours and outcomes. The ten stories range from the very short to the long with characters who express themselves by means of a variety of mannerisms and inflected language (including some use of dialect). Read and enjoy!

The Life of John Goodwin

... he wrote a small pamphlet , which he entitled , “ The Butcher's Blessing : or , The Bloody Intentions of Romish Cavaliers , against the City of London ...

The Life of John Goodwin


Christian Theology

... and , in 1642 , published two tracts , which he entitled , “ The Butcher's Blessing ; or , The Bloody Intentions of Romish Cavaliers , against the City ...

Christian Theology


The Butcher of Baxter Pass

Tom McNamara never thought of anything as a blessing. Blessings came from the Lord. To Tom's way of seeing things, everything since May 30, 1865, ...

The Butcher of Baxter Pass

THE GREATEST WESTERN WRITERS OF THE 21ST CENTURY Bestselling authors William W. Johnstone and J.A. Johnstone turn up the heat for one heck of a showdown with lawman Jess Casey—when the devil goes down to Texas... THE MOST HATED MAN IN THE SOUTH They call him "The Butcher of Baxter Pass," the notorious former Union General who massacred 200 Conferate prisoners—just because he could. Now it’s Sheriff Jess Casey’s unenviable job to protect the bloodthirsty murderer from those who want him dead, which turns out be pretty much everyone south of the Mason-Dixon Line. When the Butcher arrives in Fort Worth—followed by the vengeance-hungry McNamara clan—Casey has to swallow his disgust and uphold the law, even if it means saving a mass murderer’s hide. But it won’t be easy. He’s outgunned by a dozen ex-Rebel avengers who lost three of their kin to the Butcher and will shoot anyone who gets in their way. Unfortunately for them, Sheriff Casey is the one man who’s brave enough—and crazy enough—to try and stop them...

John Goodwin and the Puritan Revolution

The Butcher's Blessing. Printed for Henry Overton. 4to. [2], 6 p. Wing: Gl 1 52. Thomason: E242(8): 4 November. 1643 or a Bone for a Bishop to Pick.

John Goodwin and the Puritan Revolution

`A major contribution to our understanding of the English Revolution.' Ann Hughes, Professor of Early Modern History, Keele University.

A Catalogue of the Library of the Athen um

The Butcher's Blessing , or the bloody intentions of Romish Cavaliers against the City of London above other places demonstrated . ( Civil War Tracts . ) ...

A Catalogue of the Library of the Athen  um


The History of General Literature

The Butcher's Blessing ; or , the Bloody Intentions of Romish Cavaliers against the City of London ; ” “ The Obstructors of Justice .

The History of General Literature