The Grave Thief

Book Three of The Twilight Reign

The Grave Thief

For Isak, the time for heartless decisions and ruthless action has come if he is to save the Land from its oppressors ... Scree has been wiped from the face of the Land in a brutal demonstration of intent. While those responsible scatter to work on the next step in their plan, the stakes are raised - all the way to the heavens - as the Gods themselves enter the fray. Returning home to a nation divided by fanaticism, Lord Isak is haunted both by the consequences of his actions in Scree and by visions of his own impending death. As the full extent of Azaer's schemes become clearer, he realises prophecy and zealotry must play their part in his battle-plans if there is to be any chance of surviving the coming years. As a white-eye, Isak has had to embrace the darker parts of his own soul, but now the savage religious fervour sweeping his nation must also be accepted and turned to purpose, in the name of survival. With the battle lines vague and allegiances uncertain, the time for heartless decisions and ruthless action has come. Two figures oppose Isak and his allies: the greatest warrior in history, who dreams of empire and Godhood, and a newborn baby whose dreams have no limit.

The Hero and the Grave

The Theme of Death in the Films of John Ford, Akira Kurosawa and Sergio Leone

The Hero and the Grave

The theme of death is an essential component of film narrative, particularly in how it affects the hero. Filmmakers from different cultures and backgrounds have developed distinct yet archetypal perspectives on death and the protagonist's response. Focusing on Western and Japanese period genre films, the author examines the work of John Ford (1894-1973), Akira Kurosawa (1910-1998) and Sergio Leone (1929-1989) and finds similarities regarding death's impact on the hero's sense of morality.

The Thieves of Stonewood

Book I of the Stonewood Trilogy

The Thieves of Stonewood

Welcome to Stonewood. A large and wealthy city where thieves, thugs, and assassins lurk behind every shadow. The powerful Thieves Guild controls the underworld and only members are permitted to commit crimes within their city. This is the tale of Harcourt, a down-on-his-luck thief who desperately needs to gain a membership into the Guild. Jalanna, the love of his life has been scarred in a terrible fire and a priest claims he can heal her scars, but for a hefty price in gold. A near-impossible amount to acquire for a homeless thief without a Guild membership. Luck is not on the rogue's side as his goal slips further and further out of reach. Forces conspire against him. Then a chance encounter on a fateful night, could change Harcourt's life forever.

The Pot Thief Mysteries Volume Two

The Pot Thief Who Studied Escoffier, The Pot Thief Who Studied D. H. Lawrence, and The Pot Thief Who Studied Billy the Kid

The Pot Thief Mysteries Volume Two

Albuquerque pottery dealer/treasure hunter/sleuth Hubie Schuze is back digging up trouble—in this second collection from the “smartly funny” series (Anne Hillerman, author of Spider Woman’s Daughter). A dealer in ancient Native American pottery, Hubert Schuze has spent years searching the public lands of New Mexico for artwork that would otherwise remain buried. According to the US government, he’s a thief, but Hubie knows the real crime would be to allow age-old traditions to die. He honors prehistoric craftspeople by resurrecting their handiwork, and nothing—not even foul play—will stop him in these three installments of the Lefty Award–winning mystery series. The Pot Thief Who Studied Escoffier: When a restaurateur asks him to create one hundred dinner plates for his new Austrian eatery in Santa Fe, Hubie can’t say no to the challenge—or the $25,000 he’ll be paid. But no sooner does he start the project than the fractious kitchen staff starts turning up dead. Hubie will have to dish out some serious detective work if he’s going to collect his fee, save the restaurant, and escape Santa Fe alive. “Funny at a very high intellectual level and deliciously delightful.” —The Baltimore Sun The Pot Thief Who Studied D. H. Lawrence: Eighty years ago, D. H. Lawrence moved to Taos, where a neighbor welcomed him with a stew served in a handcrafted pot made by a legendary craftswoman. Now, the neighbor’s great-grandson wants Hubie to retrieve it. The pot thief agrees, but his search of the Lawrence ranch is interrupted by a blizzard that traps him and several other guests indoors. It soon becomes apparent that one of them is a killer—and Hubie finds himself facing a mystery so shocking it would make Lady Chatterley blush. The Pot Thief Who Studied Billy the Kid: After lowering himself into a cave in search of Anasazi Indian pottery, Hubie uncovers a long-dead corpse, buried where the ancient tribe would never have left a body. As he puzzles over this discovery, he hears a chilling sound: his truck, left behind on the cliff face, being driven away. After a narrow escape, Hubie returns with his best friend, Susannah, to try to identify the dead man. What they find instead is a mystery that takes them back not to the days before Columbus, but to the Wild West of Billy the Kid . . .

Secrets from Beyond The Grave

The Amazing Mysteries of Eternity, Paradise, and the Land of Lost Souls

Secrets from Beyond The Grave

Your guide to the mystery of heaven, hell, and eternity The Bible teaches us that when our earthly journey ends, our eternal journey is only beginning. But what will life be like after death? Are there clues that tell us more about the unseen worlds of departed souls? In Secrets From Beyond the Grave, Perry Stone brings his unique blend of Bible knowledge, prophecy, and spiritual insight to the topic of heaven and hell. In this comprehensive look at the afterlife, he answers important questions such as: Where do the soul and spirit go after death? Who will be in heaven? Will our pets be there? Where is hell located? Are there “gateways” to hell within the geography of our earth? What about purgatory, aborted infants, cremation, and suicide? Death is not the end but only the beginning. Journey with Pastor Stone into the mysteries of life after death, the underworld, and the wonder of paradise.

The Grave for Bad Memories Full Circle

Full Circle

The Grave for Bad Memories Full Circle

Unconditional Love The saga continues in the lives of longtime friends Gerald and Catherine. On December 23, 1984, Catherine Russell marries her best friend, Gerald Lucas. Shortly after theyre married, a lover from Geralds past makes her presence known and causes Catherine to doubt his fidelity. Will old lovers threaten their marriage? While dealing with this drama, an internal affairs agent constantly rehashes the tragic events surrounding Catherines mothers death. Will her unwarranted inquiries into their past jeopardize Geralds career in law enforcement? Over the years, Catherine refused to discuss the traumatic events of her childhood. Ultimately, a secret that she has kept for more than twenty years is revealed, and she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life. Will this secret tear the family apart?

The Grave Encounter

The Grave Encounter


The Bone Thief

A Body Farm Novel

The Bone Thief

“The Body Farm novels have become bestsellers because of their attention to the fine details of forensics combined with great plot lines.” —Deseret News (Salt Lake City) The latest Body Farm novel from New York Times bestseller Jefferson Bass, The Bone Thief is a must for fans of Patricia Cornwell and TV’s C.S.I. The hero of four previous thrillers—Carved in Bone, The Devil’s Bones, Flesh and Bone, and Bones of Betrayal—Dr. Bill Brockton must stop a grisly black market dealing in body parts and cadavers in this white-knuckle adventure written by the man widely considered to be the world’s foremost expert in forensic anthropology. Read The Bone Thief and discover why Kathy Reichs calls Bass, “The real deal.”

A Grave Matter

A Grave Matter

Lady Kiera Darby and Sebastian Gage investigate a macabre murderer in this historical mystery from the author of Mortal Arts. Scotland, 1830. Following the death of her dear friend, Lady Kiera Darby is in need of a safe haven. Returning to her childhood home, Kiera hopes her beloved brother Trevor and the merriment of the Hogmanay Ball will distract her. But when a caretaker is murdered and a grave is disturbed at nearby Dryburgh Abbey, Kiera is once more thrust into the cold grasp of death. While Kiera knows that aiding in another inquiry will only further tarnish her reputation, her knowledge of anatomy could make the difference in solving the case. But agreeing to investigate means Kiera must deal with the complicated emotions aroused in her by inquiry agent Sebastian Gage. When Gage arrives, he reveals that the incident at the Abbey was not the first—some fiend is digging up old bones and holding them for ransom. Now Kiera and Gage must catch the grave robber and put the case to rest…before another victim winds up six feet under. From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Grave,

A Poem,

The Grave,