The Jane Austen Marriage Manual

The Jane Austen Marriage Manual

How was Elizabeth Bennett expected to respond to Mr Darcy's fumbled advances? How was a mother meant to present her daughter to society for the first time? Read the manuals and 'conduct books' every respectful Regency lady was required to read before embarking on the long courtship process made famous by the novels of Jane Austen.

The Jane Austen Marriage Manual

The Jane Austen Marriage Manual

It's a truth universally acknowledged that Jane Austen knew more about marriage than anyone else. (Never mind that she never got married herself...) It's in the midst of the recession when Kate, a freelance journalist and self-professed Jane Austen addict, finds herself single, unemployed and soon-to-be homeless (not to mention about to turn 40). In desperation she accepts a writing assignment to prove a theory that in the toughest economic times a wealthy man is the only must-have accessory. So, with just Jane Austen's advice for company, she sets off to see if Mr Rich can ever become Mr Right. Her mission takes her to Palm Beach, St Moritz and London. Where, in keeping company with the elite, she meets billionaires, oil tycoons, and generally men who make Mr Darcy look like an amateur. But will rubbing shoulders with men of good fortune ever actually lead her to love?

My Life in Black and White

My Life in Black and White

See to it you can take a slap as easy as a kiss. That is if you want to get anywhere in this world and not be anybody's fool. Clara Bishop feels life has served her up far too many slaps and not nearly enough kisses. When she is suddenly jilted by her philandering husband, she follows him to London, determined she must win him back. Armed only with a suitcase of vintage clothing inherited from her grandmother, a former film noir actress, Clara discovers that the clothes really do make the woman. Dressed to kill, she adopts a new femme fatale persona: confident, sexy and set on revenge. But on the road to retaliation, Clara discovers an unfinished film script that sheds light on her grandmother's mysterious death years before. As Clara's life is transported into a living, breathing film from the fifties, she discovers not only the secrets of her grandmother's past, but the chance to write her own ending too . . . MY LIFE IN BLACK & WHITE is a time-travel romantic-comedy set within the shadowy world of film noir.

Seven Days in May

A Novel

Seven Days in May

For readers of Kate Williams, Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson, a captivating novel of love and resilience during the Great War, inspired by the author’s family history. As the First World War rages in continental Europe, two New York heiresses, Sydney and Brooke Sinclair, are due to set sail for England. Brooke is engaged to marry impoverished aristocrat Edward Thorpe-Tracey, the future Lord Northbrook, in the wedding of the social calendar. Sydney has other adventures in mind; she is drawn to the burgeoning suffragette movement, which is a constant source of embarrassment to her proper sister. As international tempers flare, the German embassy releases a warning that any ships making the Atlantic crossing are at risk. Undaunted, Sydney and Brooke board the Lusitania for the seven-day voyage with Edward, not knowing that disaster lies ahead. In London, Isabel Nelson, a young woman grateful to have escaped her blemished reputation in Oxford, has found employment at the British Admiralty in the mysterious Room 40. While she begins as a secretary, it isn’t long before her skills in codes and cyphers are called on, and she learns a devastating truth and the true cost of war. As the days of the voyage pass, these four lives collide in a struggle for survival as the Lusitania meets its deadly fate.

The Austen Girls

The Story of Jane & Cassandra Austen, the Closest of Sisters

The Austen Girls

Jane and Cassandra Austen were the closest of sisters from early childhood. Jane looked up to and adored her older sister, who was devoted to her in return. The inseparable sisters supported each other through various emotional crises and family troubles. Most importantly, Cassandra supported and encouraged Jane in her writing. This book traces their relationship throughout Jane's life and literary career, until Jane's premature death at the age of 41. It also looks at Cassandra's life after the loss of her sister. "I Jane Austen of the Parish of Chawton do . . . give and bequeath to my dearest Sister Cassandra Elizabeth every thing of which I may die possessed, or which may be hereafter due to me . . . I appoint my said dear Sister the Executrix of this my last Will & Testament." Jane Austen, 27 April 1817. The bequest included the manuscripts of Jane's unpublished and unfinished novels.

Mr Darcy’s Guide to Courtship

The Secrets of Seduction from Jane Austen’s Most Eligible Bachelor

Mr Darcy’s Guide to Courtship

'Mr Darcy's Guide to Courtship' is no ordinary Regency courtship manual, composed as it is by a Fitzwilliam Darcy as yet unmellowed by contact with Elizabeth Bennet. Full of entirely justified pride and meticulously cultivated prejudice, Jane Austen's most famous (and most fancied) hero here reveals the secrets of his success with the opposite sex, offering hints to both ladies and gentlemen on the rules of courtship, including making oneself agreeable, identifying an appropriate partner and how to escape the unwanted attentions of rogues and fortune-hunters. *Also includes: beauty tips from Caroline Bingley, thoughts on the improper courtship techniques of Messrs Wickham and Mr Collins, reflections on spinsterhood by Miss Emma Woodhouse, and Darcy's advice to his many illustrious correspondents including Lord Byron, the Duke of Wellington and Mr Willoughby of Combe Magna.*

Jane Austen and Marriage

Jane Austen and Marriage

"It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife." -Pride and Prejudice The question of marriage lies at the center of Jane Austen's novels. The issues bound up in the pursuit of love, happiness, money, and status were those of her day and informed the plots and morals of her work. In this fascinating book, Hazel Jones explores the ways in which these themes manifest themselves in Jane Austen's life and fiction, against the backdrop of contemporary conduct manuals, letters, diaries, journals and newspapers. Drawing on original research, this entertaining and detailed study provides a charming and profound insight into the world of Jane Austen.

A Memoir of Jane Austen

and Other Family Recollections

A Memoir of Jane Austen

'I doubt whether it would be possible to mention any author of note, whose personal obscurity was so complete.' James Edward Austen-Leigh's Memoir of his aunt Jane Austen was published in 1870, over fifty years after her death. Together with the shorter recollections of James Edward's two sisters, Anna Lefroy and Caroline Austen, the Memoir remains the prime authority for her life and continues to inform all subsequent accounts. These are family memories, the record of Jane Austen's life shaped and limited by the loyalties, reserve, and affection of nieces and nephews recovering in old age the outlines of the young aunt they had each known. They still remembered the shape of her bonnet and the tone of her voice, and their first-hand accounts bring her vividly before us. Their declared partiality also raises fascinating issues concerning biographical truth, and the terms in which all biography functions. This edition brings together for the first time these three memoirs, and also includes Jane's brother Henry Austen's 'Biographical Notice' of 1818 and his lesser known 'Memoir' of 1833, making a unique biographical record. ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.