The Lone Wolfe and the Hidden Empire

The Lone Wolfe and the Hidden Empire

Fans of Joseph Louis Vance's character "The Lone Wolf" are in for a treat with this original novel, originally published in 1947 to tie in with the movie series starring Warren William.

Catalog of Copyright Entries. Third Series

1948

Catalog of Copyright Entries. Third Series

Includes Part 1A: Books and Part 1B: Pamphlets, Serials and Contributions to Periodicals

Girls Series Books

A Checklist of Titles Published 1840-1991

Girls Series Books


Columbia Pictures Movie Series, 1926Ð1955

The Harry Cohn Years

Columbia Pictures Movie Series, 1926Ð1955

Blondie, Boston Blackie, Ellery Queen, The Lone Wolf, Gasoline Alley, Jungle Jim... There were 27 film series produced and released by Columbia Pictures from 1926 through 1955. This reference book covers the origins of the popular fictional characters featured, as well as their appearances in other media (comics, novels, radio and television). Also provided are thumbnail biographies of the actors who brought these characters to life. The films themselves are examined in detail, with release dates, cast and production credits, synopses, reviews, the author’s summation, the publicity “tag lines,” and the songs heard. Additionally, most of the outdoor locations used in filming such Columbia western series as Wild Bill Saunders and The Durango Kid are identified.

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film

Sixth Edition

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film

For almost thirty years, David Thomson’s Biographical Dictionary of Film has been not merely “the finest reference book ever written about movies” (Graham Fuller, Interview), not merely the “desert island book” of art critic David Sylvester, not merely “a great, crazy masterpiece” (Geoff Dyer, The Guardian), but also “fiendishly seductive” (Greil Marcus, Rolling Stone). This new edition updates the older entries and adds 30 new ones: Darren Aronofsky, Emmanuelle Beart, Jerry Bruckheimer, Larry Clark, Jennifer Connelly, Chris Cooper, Sofia Coppola, Alfonso Cuaron, Richard Curtis, Sir Richard Eyre, Sir Michael Gambon, Christopher Guest, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Spike Jonze, Wong Kar-Wai, Laura Linney, Tobey Maguire, Michael Moore, Samantha Morton, Mike Myers, Christopher Nolan, Dennis Price, Adam Sandler, Kevin Smith, Kiefer Sutherland, Charlize Theron, Larry Wachowski and Andy Wachowski, Lew Wasserman, Naomi Watts, and Ray Winstone. In all, the book includes more than 1300 entries, some of them just a pungent paragraph, some of them several thousand words long. In addition to the new “musts,” Thomson has added key figures from film history–lively anatomies of Graham Greene, Eddie Cantor, Pauline Kael, Abbott and Costello, Noël Coward, Hoagy Carmichael, Dorothy Gish, Rin Tin Tin, and more. Here is a great, rare book, one that encompasses the chaos of art, entertainment, money, vulgarity, and nonsense that we call the movies. Personal, opinionated, funny, daring, provocative, and passionate, it is the one book that every filmmaker and film buff must own. Time Out named it one of the ten best books of the 1990s. Gavin Lambert recognized it as “a work of imagination in its own right.” Now better than ever–a masterwork by the man playwright David Hare called “the most stimulating and thoughtful film critic now writing.”

Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book Nine

Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book Nine

The final battle between the free Fables of the mundane world and the Empire occupying their former Homelands is here! The creatures of myth and fairytale lore have assembled together to finally face the Adversary and his hordes. But victory will not come without a price--who will live and who will die for the fate of the Homelands? Bill Willingham's Eisner Award-winning, New York Times best-selling series comes to the deluxe hardcover format here in FABLES: THE DELUXE EDITION BOOK NINE in one of the most epic storylines in the series' long history. This deluxe edition collects FABLES issues #70-82.

The House of Death (Telamon Triology, Book 1)

An action-packed mystery from Ancient Greece

The House of Death (Telamon Triology, Book 1)

As Alexander the Great sits with his troops poised to attack, his guides are murdered. Can he uncover the spies in time? The House of Death is the first mystery in the magnificent Ancient Greece series featuring Alexander the Great and his physician Telamon, by master historian Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody. 'Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander's conquests' - The Times It is 334 BC and the young Alexander sits with his troops by the Hellespont, poised to attack the empire of the great King Darius III. To win the approval of the gods for his enterprise he makes many offerings, yet the smoke does not rise, the sacrificial animals are flawed. Worse, his guides are being brutally murdered, Persian spies are in the camp, and Alexander's generals have their own secrets. Into this turmoil comes Telamon, a physician and boyhood friend of Alexander. As the climax builds and Alexander throws off his nervous fears, winning a brilliant and bloody triumph over the Persians, Telamon must at last succeed in unmasking their enemies... What readers are saying about The House of Death: 'A book to fall in love with' 'Paul Doherty at his very best! Very well researched - a joy to read' 'Found myself totally engrossed in the book; I could not put it down till I got to the very last page'