The Rooster Trapped in the Reptile Room

A Barry Gifford Reader

The Rooster Trapped in the Reptile Room

"Everything I have to say about race and religion and politics is in the novels," declares Barry Gifford. The Rooster Trapped in the Reptile Room gathers generous portions of all thirteen novels and novellas, as well as first-person essays, generous helpings of poetry, journalism, and a new interview with the author. The broad contours of an episodic output emerge—a full-length view of the freaks and freakish incidents that populate Gifford’s unique human comedy. A world, as Lula, the author’s favorite of all his characters, reflects, "wild at heart and weird on top." The Rooster Trapped in the Reptile Room provides essential reading for anyone after the soul of American writing.

Murder in Miniature

Murder in Miniature

A MINIATURE MYSTERY. First in a big new series. Geraldine Porter thought that being the chairwoman of the local Dollhouse and Miniatures Fair would give her leisure time to spend on her favorite craft. That was before a fellow miniatures afficionado is suspected of murder, leaving Gerry to prove the woman's innocence-or die trying.

Bloody Murder

The Homicide Tradition in Children's Literature

Bloody Murder

Given the long-standing belief that children ought to be shielded from disturbing life events, it is surprising to see how many stories for kids involve killing. Bloody Murder is the first full-length critical study of this pervasive theme of murder in children’s literature. Through rereadings of well-known works, such as Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, the Nancy Drew Mystery Stories, and The Outsiders, Michelle Ann Abate explores how acts of homicide connect these works with an array of previously unforeseen literary, social, political, and cultural issues. Topics range from changes in the America criminal justice system, the rise of forensic science, and shifting attitudes about crime and punishment to changing cultural conceptions about the nature of evil and the different ways that murder has been popularly presented and socially interpreted. Bloody Murder adds to the body of inquiry into America's ongoing fascination with violent crime. Abate argues that when narratives for children are considered along with other representations of homicide in the United States, they not only provide a more accurate portrait of the range, depth, and variety of crime literature, they also alter existing ideas about the meaning of violence, the emotional appeal of fear, and the cultural construction of death and dying.

The Pearls of Chaos

The Pearls of Chaos

After witnessing the death of her family and sold into slavery, Kelisse finds herself owned by a man who promises her mastery over magic, power, and most importantly her freedom. But at what cost? Her world shattered, Kelisse descends into darkness as she navigates through a cruel desert society where loss and violence are more common than sand they stand on. Where everyone takes something more from her as her mind slowly turns towards her only salvation. Something deep and dangerous inside of her.

The Emerald Forge

The Emerald Forge

Who is the boy spying on Dana? Who is the girl imprisoned in her dreams? Following the Information Terrorism attack on London, a radical new government has risen to power. The world is changing, but so far as it concerns Dana Provine, an unusual autistic girl growing up in an unforgiving society, everyday life is much the same. When Dana is troubled by disturbing dreams about a hospital, and a boy from school who seems to know far too much about the past starts following her, it’s just two more problems on top of many. But when she encounters a bizarre construct, half beast, half machine, she realises something dangerous is going on that could affect everyone. The answer she seeks could confirm both her greatest hope and her deepest fear: that Ivor Pilgrennon still lives.

The Penultimate Peril

The Penultimate Peril

With 5 million copies sold in the UK alone, one might consider Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events to make him one of the most successful children’s authors of the past decade. We, however, consider these miserable so-called adventure stories and the Hollywood film starring Jim Carrey that accompanied the books for children as nothing more than a dreadful mistake.

Mr Murder

A brilliant thriller of heart-stopping suspense

Mr Murder

Is he all that he seems...? Dean Koontz writes a chilling thriller in Mr Murder, a tale of one family... and a deadly killer. Perfect for fans of Richard Laymon and Stephen King. 'The resounding variations Mr. Koontz plays on this good story, here craftily retold... allow him to counterpoint the new horrors about us with the old horrors already inside us' - The New York Times Book Review For author Martin Stillwater, life couldn't be more perfect. He and Paige are happy together; their two daughters, Emily and Charlotte, are intelligent and healthy; and his novels are achieving long-hoped-for levels of success. So why does he feel such dread and experience sudden blackouts? The killer doesn't know his own name, only the name he uses. He has no family, no friends, no home. He cannot recall who gives him his assignments, and he doesn't know why his targets must die. Now, however, he senses that in a town he can't yet envision, a life awaits him, a place to call home, with family and friends. Charlotte knows something is wrong: the man moves and sounds like Daddy, but he doesn't smile as quickly or as often as usual. And when he does smile, he seems to be pretending. Daddy isn't Daddy. What readers are saying about Mr Murder: 'Many spectacular, nail biting sequences' 'Exciting from start to finish. This masterful writer took me on a roller-coaster ride of emotions' 'One of Dean Koontz' best books... suspenseful and difficult to put down'