The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

Pixie Piper, an ordinary fifth grader, discovers she is a direct descendant of Mother Goose—and she has the magical ability and poetry power to prove it! A lively and funny twist on a classic character for fans of the Clementine books, Wendy Mass, and Lisa Graff. This is the first of two books about Pixie Piper, and it features black-and-white spot art throughout. Fifth grader Pixie Piper has always known that she was a little different. She has a wild mop of hair that won’t stay put, her best friend is a boy, and to top it all off, she’s constantly coming up with rhymes and poems that just seem to pop out of her. Then, when Pixie thinks it can’t get any worse, she finds out that she actually is different—she’s a descendant of Mother Goose! This surprising and clever novel features family, friendship, poetry, a toilet museum, and just the right amount of magic, as well as a goose, a fox, and a beautiful golden retriever puppy. Rich, multigenerational characters and the real and powerful portrayal of grade-school friendships, with all their ups and downs, distinguish this terrific elementary school story that will appeal to fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and novels by Wendy Mass and Lisa Graff.

Pixie Piper and the Matter of the Batter

Pixie Piper and the Matter of the Batter

In this sequel to The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper, Pixie Piper—who is a direct descendent of Mother Goose—and her adorable gosling, Destiny, head to Chuckling Goose Farm, where she bakes magical wishing cakes, makes new friends, and defends the farm from the evil Sinister Sisters. “A fresh new addition to middle grade stories of magic and friendship; recommended for fans of . . . Chris Colfer’s The Land of Stories.”—School Library Journal Pixie Piper and her best friend, Gray, are off to Chuckling Goose Farm, where descendants of Mother Goose spend the summer learning to master their magic. With her new friends, Rain and Pip, she makes up baking rhymes, plays with her goose, Destiny, and learns how to bake magic wishing cakes. The farm seems safe, but when Pixie finds a shard of glass that belongs to Raveneece, her old enemy, she begins to worry that the worrisome Sinister Sister isn’t as banished as she’d hoped. With multigenerational characters, an emphasis on family, a powerful portrayal of grade-school friendships, and lots of poetry, this is a truly original fairy-tale retelling. ALA Booklist said, “Pixie’s an engaging protagonist, who faces both fantastical challenges along with familiar issues . . . this will draw fans of classic tales with a twist.” Features black-and-white chapter openers and a recipe.