Prince and the Guard

Prince and the Guard

Eventyrlige fortællinger. In "The Prince," Maxon reveals there was another girl in his life before America; and in "The Guard," America falls for Aspen Leger, a Six who has risen in the ranks to become a member of the royal guard

The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard

The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard

Two novellas set in the world of Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series are now available in print for the first time. The Prince and The Guard both offer captivating views into the hearts and minds of the two men fighting to win America Singer's love. This collection also features exclusive bonus content, including a sneak peek at The One, the eagerly anticipated third novel in the Selection series. Before America arrived at the palace to compete in the Selection, there was another girl in Prince Maxon's life. The Prince opens the week before the Selection begins and follows Maxon through the first day of the competition. Raised as a Six, Aspen Leger never dreamed that he would find himself living in the palace as a member of the royal guard. In The Guard, readers get an inside look at Aspen's life within the palace walls—and the truth about a guard's world that America will never know.

The Selection Series 3-Book Collection

The Selection, The Elite, The One, The Prince, The Guard

The Selection Series 3-Book Collection

The first three novels in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series are available together in one ebook collection, along with the first two novellas in the series. Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want.nThen America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself—and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. Before America arrived at the palace to compete in the Selection, there was another girl in Prince Maxon’s life. In The Prince, follow Maxon from the week before the Selection begins through the first day of the competition. Raised as a Six, Aspen Leger never dreamed that he would find himself living in the palace. In The Guard, get an inside look at Aspen’s life as a palace guard—and the truth about his world that America will never know.

The Selection Series - Happily Ever After

The Selection Series - Happily Ever After

This title features the achingly romantic and stylish four 'The Selection' enovellas - 'The Prince', 'The Guard', 'The Queen', and 'The Favorite' - together in one volume.

Kiera Cass

Kiera Cass

Although still in the early stages of her career, Kiera Cass has enjoyed the kind of success most writers only dream of. After publishing her first novel, The Siren, in 2009, she went on to write The Selection, a dystopian young adult novel set in a future version of the United States in which girls are selected by lottery to compete for the position of Princess. Although she had had no luck at all in finding either an agent or a traditional publisher for The Siren, The Selection landed her, in short order, an agent and a three-book deal with a top publisher. Cass fans and newcomers alike will enjoy reading this biography of an exuberant but down-to-earth young author.

A Selection of Chinese Historical and Traditional Stories

A Selection of Chinese Historical and Traditional Stories

With its long history and rich culture, China has produced a vast amount of tales which vary in length, style and subject. This book contains the most famous and captivating Chinese historical and traditional stories, which will not only interest their readers, but will also reflect some of the most important characteristics of Chinese culture as: loyalty, filial piety, kindness, patriotism, intellectuality, humility, patience and respect to elders. I think people will enjoy reading them.

A Russian Prince in the Soviet State

Hunting Stories, Letters from Exile, and Military Memoirs

A Russian Prince in the Soviet State

Of a noble and distinguished family disenfranchised by the Bolshevik revolution, Vladimir Trubetskoi (1892-1937) alone remmained in Russia, and suffered the consequences.His life and experiences are well documented in this remarkable volume, a selection of his writings that reflects his comfortable prewar existence and his post-revolutionary poverty, uncertainty, and displacement, all conveyed with humor and ironic detachment. Including selections from Trubetskoi's memoirs, his letters from exile in Uzbekistan, and his hunting stories, the chapters of this volume offer autobiographical narratives of the self, creative "reflections," ethnography, and, most of all, uniquely evocative and informative instances of history lived and recorded with quiet power and irrepressible character. In his letters from exile, Trubetskoi describes his grim situation in Central Asia-how he snatched moments to write between mornings playing piano in a ballet studio and late nights in a restaurant band, struggling with the heat, the insect-borne illness, and the problems of a large, uprooted family. His memoirs of 1911-12, "Notes of a Cuirassier," are the culmination of his efforts and they convey in vivid detail the glittering prewar world of an elite Russian Guards regiment. These reminiscences as well as his stories offer a glimpse of what life was like for a citizen of Imperial Russia who tried to make a life for himself in the new Soviet state. Instructive, amusing, moving, Trubetskoi's stories are also an inspiring example of how a person of grace and true nobility meets large-scale social and political upheaval.