The Wolf's Call

Book One of Raven's Blade

The Wolf's Call

'The Wolf's Call is everything a fantasy fan could ever wish for' Booknest 'An immensely satisfying, top-notch adventure fantasy' Kirkus Vaelin Al Sorna is a living legend. It was his leadership that overthrew empires and his sacrifice that saved the Unified Realm from destruction. Now he lives a quiet life, his days of warfare behind him. Yet whispers have spread across the sea of an army called the Steel Horde, led by a man who thinks himself a god. When Vaelin learns that Sherin, the woman he lost long ago, has fallen into the Horde's grasp, he resolves to confront this powerful new threat. To this end, he travels to the realms of the Merchant Kings - a strange land ruled by honour and intrigue. And as the drums of war echo across kingdoms riven by conflict, Vaelin learns that there are some battles even he cannot hope to win. The Wolf's Call is the start of an action-packed epic fantasy series from Anthony Ryan, a master storyteller who has taken the fantasy world by storm. Books by Anthony Ryan: Raven's Shadow Blood Song Tower Lord Queen of Fire Raven's Blade The Wolf's Call Draconis Memoria The Waking Fire The Legion of Flame The Empire of Ashes

Atlantis Found (A Dirk Pitt Novel)

Atlantis Found (A Dirk Pitt Novel)

Marine explorer Dirk Pitt faces off against an elite army from an era gone-by in order to uncover the secrets of an ancient civilization in this #1 New York Times-bestselling series. A group of anthropologists uncover strange inscriptions on the wall of a Colorado mine just as an explosion traps them deep within the earth. But their work won’t stay buried long. Dirk Pitt is on hand during the blast and quick to initiate a rescue operation. He is then tapped to lead a research crew on behalf of the U.S. National Underwater and Marine Agency to further study these uncanny artifacts. And that’s when his ship is set upon and nearly sunk by an impossibility—a vessel that should have died 56 years before. Clearly, another group knows about the relics of this long-forgotten but highly-advanced seafaring culture. And they’ll stop at nothing to keep the rest of the world in the dark.

Following the Threads

Bringing Inquiry Research Into the Classroom

Following the Threads

Following the Threads: Bringing Inquiry Research into the Classroom integrates several strands related to inquiry research. Historians, artists, and educators are interviewed about carrying out research, and teachers who regularly conduct projects, expeditions, and other student-centered research strategies discuss their work. Complete with lesson and unit suggestions and further resources, this book is a tapestry of ideas for teachers, woven from the work and wisdom of educators and artists who follow the threads of their own questions and their students’, bringing passion, depth, and authenticity to classroom teaching at any level.

The Talisman

A Novel

The Talisman

Twelve-year-old Jack Sawyer braves the mysterious dangers of the Territories, a surreal parallel world, in his cross-country quest through the U.S. for the Talisman, the only hope for his dying mother and for his own survival.

The Origin of the Wolf Ritual

The Whaling Indians West Coast Legends and Stories

The Origin of the Wolf Ritual

This last segment of the Sapir-Thomas Nootka texts includes three first-hand accounts of the Tlo: kwa: na, or Wolf Ritual, principal ceremonial of the Nuu-chah-nulth First Nations of the West Coast of Vancouver Island. The ritual, which takes several days to enact, is described in detail, from the howling of the "Wolves" in human form, to the abduction of children to their forest lair and the return of these initiates to perform newly learned dances. Also included are Sapir's field record of a Tlo: kwa: na of 1910, his correspondence with his chief interpreters Alex Thomas and Frank Williams, and autobiographical stories by Alex Thomas.

In the Wolf's Mouth

In the Wolf's Mouth

From the author of the Man Booker shortlisted The Quickening Maze In the Wolf’s Mouth follows the lives of four very different men, all of them navigating the chaos and horror brought about by the Second World War. Fighting for the Allies are Will Walker, an ambitious English Field Security Officer and Ray Marfione, a wide-eyed Italian-American infantryman who dreams of home and the movies. Meanwhile in Sicily, Angilù, a young shepherd caught up in corruption and Cirò Albanese, a sinister Mafioso, are fighting their own battles with devastating consequences.

Don't Call the Wolf

Don't Call the Wolf

Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this gorgeously imagined fantasy about a dark forest besieged by monsters—and the wild queen who has sworn to drive them out. A fierce young queen, neither human nor lynx, who fights to protect a forest humans have long abandoned. An exhausted young soldier, last of his name, who searches for the brother who disappeared beneath those trees without a trace. A Golden Dragon, fearsome and vengeful, whose wingbeats haunt their nightmares and their steps. When these three paths cross at the fringes of a war between monsters and men, shapeshifter queen and reluctant hero strike a deal that may finally turn the tide against the rising hordes of darkness. Ren will help Lukasz find his brother...if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon. But promises are all too easily broken. This Eastern European fantasy debut, inspired by the Polish fairy tale "The Glass Mountain," will take you on a twisting journey full of creeping tension, simmering romance, and haunting folklore—perfect for readers who loved An Enchantment of Ravens and The Hazel Wood.

The Wolf Gift: The Graphic Novel

The Wolf Gift: The Graphic Novel

When reporter Reuben Golding arrives at a secluded mansion at the request of the home's mysterious female owner, he doesn't expect this assignment will lead to him being inexplicably attacked-bitten-by a beast shadowed in darkness. This single event prompts a terrifying but seductive transformation that both opens Reuben's eyes to what was previously unseen and unknown, and leads to even more questions. Why was he given this wolf gift? Is its nature good or evil? And is he now all alone in this mysterious new world?

Night Songs

Night Songs

Alfie Free and Tommy Chandler, two San Jose police detectives, have been partners and friends for thirteen years. While neither of them is willing to acknowledge that omniously numbered anniversary, they can't escape the strange and horrifying events ahead. They soon find themselves knee-deep into the occult, chasing a drug kingpin and self-proclaimed vampire. Moreover, their snitch turns up in a back alley. Dead. Drained of all his blood. When Tommy unexpectedly inherits a ranch in the Santa Lucia Mountains of Big Sur, both he and Alfie agree they need a vacation and quickly flee San Jose. They can not, however, escape the dark cloud of their thirteenth year together. In Big Sur, while traveling through a dark and foreboding forest, Alfie and Tommy meet and quickly befriend a band of Gypsies. And suddenly, they're forced to protect these new friends from wolfish beasts with hell-fire eyes. The only warning of the beasts' imminent attack are their Night Songs!

The Killing of Wolf Number Ten

The True Story

The Killing of Wolf Number Ten

A killer. A manhunt. The triumph of justice and of the wolf. The greatest event in Yellowstone history. Greater Yellowstone was the last great truly intact ecosystem in the temperate zones of the earth—until, in the 1920s, U.S. government agents exterminated its top predator, the gray wolf. With traps and rifles, even torching pups in their dens, the killing campaign was entirely successful. The howl of the “evil” wolf was heard no more. The “good” animals—elk, deer, bison—proliferated, until they too had to be “managed.” Two decades later, recognizing that ecosystems lacking their keystone predators tend to unravel, the visionary naturalist Aldo Leopold called for the return of the wolf to Yellowstone. It would take another fifty years for his vision to come true. In the early 1990s, as the movement for Yellowstone wolf restoration gained momentum, rage against it grew apace. When at last, in February 1995, fifteen wolves were trapped in Alberta and brought to acclimation pens in Yellowstone, even then legal and political challenges continued. There was also a lot of talk in the bars about “shoot, shovel, and shut up.” While the wolves’ enemies worked to return them to Canada, the biologists in charge of the project feared that the wolves might well return on their own. Once they were released, two packs remained in the national park, but one bore only one pup and the other none. The other, comprising Wolves Nine and Ten and Nine’s yearling daughter, disappeared. They were in fact heading home. As they emerged from protected federal land, an unemployed ne’er-do-well from Red Lodge, Montana, trained a high-powered rifle on Wolf Number Ten and shot him through the chest. Number Nine dug a den next to the body of her mate, and gave birth to eight pups. The story of their rescue and the manhunt for the killer is the heart of The Killing of Wolf Number Ten. + Read this book, and if you are ever fortunate enough to hear the howling of Yellowstone wolves, you will always think of Wolves Nine and Ten. If you ever see a Yellowstone wolf, chance are it will be carrying their DNA. The restoration of the wolf to Yellowstone is now recognized as one of conservation’s greatest achievements, and Wolves Nine and Ten will always be known as its emblematic heroes.