Treachery In Death

32

Treachery In Death

'There's another body on a slab, Dallas. Dirty cop or not, he's dead, and she's responsible. She has to be shut downbefore she decides to clean house again.' Lieutenant Eve Dallas is about to come up against her most formidable criminal yet: Lieutenant Renee Oberman, daughter of a New York Police legend. After eighteen years on the force, Oberman is efficient, decorated - and utterly corrupt. When Eve's partner Peabody overhears a damning conversation between Oberman and one of her flunkies, Peabody, Eve and her husband Roarke are soon on the case. Together they must find the hard evidence needed to bring Oberman and all her dirty cops down - knowing all the while that she will kill anyone who gets in her way.

J.D Robb IN DEATH COLLECTION

J.D Robb IN DEATH COLLECTION

Follow New York City homicide detective Eve Dallas as her investigations take her into the intriguing world of virtual reality, the seductive lifestyle of the rich and famous, and the dark underbelly of her own police force in this collection that includes three novels from the #1 New York Times bestselling In Death series... FANTASY IN DEATH INDULGENCE IN DEATH TREACHERY IN DEATH

Midnight in Death/Interlude in Death

Midnight in Death/Interlude in Death

Revenge, courage and murky pasts collide in these two exclusive J. D. Robb short stories. Midnight in Death Eve's name has made a Christmas list, but it's not for being naughty or nice. It's for putting a serial killer behind bars. Now he's escaped and has her in his sights. With her husband, Roarke, at her side, Eve must stop this madman from exacting his bloody revenge - or die trying . . . Set between Holiday in Death and Conspiracy in Death. Interlude in Death When respected Commander Skinner offers Lieutenant Eve Dallas a promotion if she'll give her husband Roarke up to custody, she reacts badly. Roarke's Irish past is murky, but he's a changed man - so what is the Commander after? With Eve and Skinner at one of Roarke's holiday resorts for a police convention, Skinner's thwarted vengeance soon brings death to their luxury surroundings . . . Set between Betrayal in Death and Seduction in Death.

Murder in Dealey Plaza

What We Know that We Didn't Know Then about the Death of JFK

Murder in Dealey Plaza

We now know vastly more about the killing of John F. Kennedy than was known 20 or 30 years ago, and new evidence is accumulating almost every day. This new evidence is being uncovered by the bold application of scientific and technological expertise to the assassination records, including the film, photographic, and autopsy records. Murder in Dealey Plaza presents the latest and best of the new assassination research. As a result of these freshly uncovered findings, it is possible to say with moral certainty and considerable scientific authority that the murder of President Kennedy was committed by a meticulously executed conspiracy which was then observed by an extensive cover-up.

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

A royal murder mystery from the streets of Victorian London

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Pitt is on a secret mission for Queen Victoria, which may be his last... New York Times bestseller Anne Perry returns with the thirty-second novel in the Thomas Pitt mystery series, Murder on the Serpentine. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry. 'Master storyteller Anne Perry moves closer to Dickens as she lifts the lace curtain from Victorian society to reveal its shocking secrets' - Sharyn McCrumb London, 1899: Head of Special Branch Commander Thomas Pitt is summoned to Buckingham Palace. In the twilight of her years, Queen Victoria is all too aware that the Prince of Wales will soon inherit her empire and must be beyond reproach. She tells Pitt she tasked her close friend and confidante, John Halberd, with investigating the Prince's friends, specifically Alan Kendrick, a wealthy playboy and betting man, but before he could report back, Halberd was found dead in a rowing boat on the Serpentine. The death has been ruled an unfortunate accident and the investigation closed, but the Queen is not convinced that all is as it seems and tasks Pitt with finding the truth. Forced to act alone in this most sensitive of investigations, Pitt finds himself embroiled in a plot that threatens not only the reputations of men, but also the safety and reputation of the Empire... What readers are saying about Murder on the Serpentine: '[An] enjoyable, well written and artfully plotted mystery from Anne Perry' 'Once again, the author has surpassed herself... a book that I had great difficulty putting down' 'Five stars'

Treachery

Betrayals, Blunders and Cover-Ups: Six Decades of Espionage

Treachery

In Treachery, noted intelligence authority Chapman Pincher makes a compelling case that Roger Hollis, head of MI5 from 1956 to 1965, was himself a double agent, acting to undermine and imperil the UK and America. Myriad intriguing case histories are portrayed, including that of Lt Igor Gouzenko, a Red Army cipher clerk whose 1945 disclosure of a mole in MI5 touched off the Cold War. With a mass of new evidence, some from Russian sources, Pincher also provides exciting new perspectives on other infamous operatives, including Kim Philby and Klaus Fuchs. Perhaps most explosively, Pincher posits that long after Hollis stepped down, a cover-up was perpetrated at the highest levels, even involving Margaret Thatcher, to conceal the truth for ever – a deception that continues today. Treachery warns us to protect our society and institutions from enemy infiltration in the future. It is a revelatory work that puts twentieth-century politics and war into stunning new relief.

Mark (Understanding the Bible Commentary Series)

Mark (Understanding the Bible Commentary Series)

The Understanding the Bible Commentary Series helps readers navigate the strange and sometimes intimidating literary terrain of the Bible. These accessible volumes break down the barriers between the ancient and modern worlds so that the power and meaning of the biblical texts become transparent to contemporary readers. The contributors tackle the task of interpretation using the full range of critical methodologies and practices, yet they do so as people of faith who hold the text in the highest regard. Pastors, teachers, and lay people alike will cherish the truth found in this commentary series.